Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Pre-teens - Prepare for adolescence and beyond


It can be a jungle out there for teenagers, or at least it may seem that way to parents as they witness their kids hurtling through childhood. Knowing that your child is immunized against human papillomavirus (HPV), the most common sexually transmitted infection in Canada, leaves one less worry for you as s/he approaches the teen years.

Here are the facts about HPV:

  • HPV is transmitted through sexual contact, including oral sex and sexual touching (even without intercourse).1a Infection typically occurs within the first 5 years of any type of sexual activity.1b
  • Some types of sexually transmitted HPV cause genital warts on the sexual organs of women and men. HPV is the leading cause of cancer of the cervix in women, and more rarely, the cause of cancer of the rectum in men.1c
  • Up to 25% of Canadians younger than 25 years are infected with HPV, according to one survey.1d Because HPV does not tend to cause symptoms, most infected individuals are not aware that they have HPV.1e

HPV update: Vaccination advised for males and females

In January 2012, National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI) updated recommendations for prevention of HPV infection2a to advise vaccination of males as well as females between 9 and 26 years of age. As with females, early inoculation prior to onset of sexual activity is suggested to maximize immune protection.2b Two HPV vaccines, Gardasil® and Cervarix™, are currently authorized for use in Canada. Both vaccines provide protection against HPV-16 and HPV-18, which cause ~70% of all cervical cancers. Gardasil® also protects against HPV-6 and HPV-11, which cause ~90% of all anogenital warts in males and females. Gardasil® is approved for use in both females and males aged 9 to 26, and in 2011 was approved for use in women up to the age of 45 years. Cervarix™ is approved for use in females aged 10 to 25.2c

Over 65 years of age?

Shingles (Herpes Zoster): An old-fashioned condition with a new approach to prevention.

Chickenpox – gone but not forgotten... especially when it comes back unexpectedly. The varicella-zoster virus (VZV) that causes chicken pox can remain dormant for many years, only to reappear later in some people in the form of a painful blistering rash known as shingles (herpes zoster).3a While the rash resolves with time, it may leave some of those affected with post-herpetic neuralgia (PHN), a chronic condition associated with persistent and often debilitating pain.3b Who needs that? Protect yourself. The new shingles vaccine, tested in more than 38,500 individuals age 60 years or older,4a cut the risk of developing herpes zoster by half. It also reduced the occurrence of post-herpetic neuralgia by two-thirds.4b That’s old-fashioned food for thought.

Pneumococcal disease: Seniors and young children most vulnerable

Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumococcus) is common and highly contagious with close contact.5a It is the leading cause of invasive pneumococcal disease such as pneumonia, bacteremia, and meningitis.6a Young children and older adults are most likely to be affected.6b Many (non-institutionalized) adults over the age of 65 – almost 60% of those responding to a 2001 Quebec telephone survey – have never been immunized against pneumococcal disease.6c Older adults appear to be at greatest risk for serious outcomes related to exposure. There is a mortality rate of 28% in adults 65 years of age and older with invasive pneumococcal disease (compared with 2- 4% mortality rates in young children, who are considered similarly high-risk).6d NACI recommends a one-time dose of pneumococcal vaccine for Canadians over the age of 65. (7a) Help stop the spread. If not for yourself, do it for grandchildren everywhere.

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. HPV vaccine (Human papillomavirus): What teens need to know. CPS Infectious Diseases and Immunization Committee. Updated: September 2010
    https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/hpv_vaccine_teens
  2. Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Prevention and HPV Vaccines: Questions and Answers - Public Health Agency of Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/std-mts/hpv-vph/hpv-vph-vaccine-eng.php
  3. Brochure: Protect yourself against shingles. Canadian Coalition for Immunization Awareness & Promotion (CCIAP).
  4. Oxman MN et al. A Vaccine to Prevent Herpes Zoster and Postherpetic Neuralgia in Older Adults. N Engl J Med 2005; 352:2271-2284
  5. What you need to know about pneumococcal disease - Immunize Your Child - Public Health Agency of Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/iyc-vve/faq-dis-mal/pneumo-eng.php
  6. Johnston BL, Conly JM. Routine adult immunization in Canada: Recommendations and performance. Can J Infect Dis. 2002 Jul-Aug; 13(4): 226–231.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2094878/
  7. Immunization Schedules: Recommendations from the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Public Health Agency of Canada. 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/is-cv/index-eng.php

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Préados : Se préparer pour la période de l’adolescence et le futur


La période de l’adolescence est une véritable jungle! Du moins elle en a l'air pour les parents qui sont témoins des problèmes de leurs enfants depuis la petite enfance. Savoir que votre enfant est protégé contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH), la principale infection transmise sexuellement (ITS) au Canada, vous enlevera un poids immense au moment où il ou elle arrivera à cette étape de sa vie.

Voici quelques faits sur le VPH :

  • Le VPH est transmis pendant n’importe quelle activité sexuelle, incluant le sexe oral et les attouchements et non pas seulement pendant les relations sexuelles 1. L’infection se contracte généralement pendant les cinq années qui suivent les premières activités sexuelles 1.
  • Certaines formes de VPH transmises sexuellement causent des verrues génitales plates sur les organes génitaux des femmes et des hommes. Le VPH est la cause principale du cancer du col de l’utérus chez les femmes, et plus rarement, la cause du cancer du rectum chez les hommes 1.
  • Selon un sondage, jusqu’à 25 % de Canadiens et de Canadiennes, âgés de moins de 25 ans, sont infectés par le VPH 1. Parce que le VPH ne génère pas ou peu de symptôme, une grande majorité des personnes infectées ne le savent pas 1.

 

Mise à jour du VPH : Vaccination recommandée pour les femmes et les hommes

En janvier 2012, le Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI) a mis à jour ses recommandations pour la prévention de l’infection par le VPH 2 et recommande la vaccination pour les garçons et les filles de 9 à 26 ans. Chez les filles, il est suggéré de procéder à la vaccination tôt avant la période d’activités sexuelles afin de maximiser la protection immunitaire 2. Deux vaccins sont présentement autorisés au Canada, le Gardasil® et le CervarixMD. Les deux vaccins offrent une protection contre les types de VPH qui causent environ 70 % de tous les cancers du col utérin (les types 16 et 18) et deux qui causent environ 90 % de toutes les verrues anogénitales chez les hommes et les femmes (les types 6 et 11). Gardasil® est autorisé pour les femmes et les hommes¸ agés entre 9 à 26 ans, et en 2011, son utilisation a été autorisée chez les femmes jusqu'à l'âge de 45 ans. CervarixMD a été autorisé au Canada pour les femmes de 10 à 25 ans 2.

Vous avez 65 ans ou plus?

Zona (herpès zoster) : Une ancienne condition avec une nouvelle approche préventive

La varicelle – chose du passé mais non oubliée... surtout quand elle revient sans prévenir. Le virus varicelle-zona (VVZ), le même qui cause la varicelle, peut rester inactif pendant de nombreuses années après la guérison puis, pour une raison inconnue, redevenir actif et causer le zona, une forme d’infection cutanée douloureuse 3. Chez la majorité des gens, une éruption causée par le zona se résorbera, mais parfois, le zona peut causer des « algies postzostériennes » (APZ). Cette condition chronique est associée à de graves douleurs persistantes et débilitantes 3. Qui a besoin de cela? Protégez-vous! Le nouveau vaccin contre le zona, testé sur plus de 38 500 personnes de plus de 60 ans 4, réduit le risque de moitié de développer cette condition. Il réduit également de deux tiers le risque de développer une névralgie postzostérienne 4. Voilà matière à réflexion.

Infection à pneumocoque : Les personnes âgées et les jeunes enfants sont les plus vulnérables

Le Streptococcus pneumoniae (le pneumocoque) est l’infection la plus fréquente et la plus contagieuse lors de contacts rapprochés 5. C’est la cause principale d’infections bactériennes graves telles que la pneumonie, la bactériémie et la méningite. Les jeunes enfants et les personnes âgées sont les plus à risque d’en être affectés 6. Plusieurs adultes (non institutionnalisés) de plus de 65 ans – environ 60 % des répondants à un sondage téléphonique québécois de 2001 – n’ont jamais été vaccinés contre l’infection à pneumocoque. Il y a un taux de mortalité de 28 % chez les adultes de plus de 65 ans qui ont contracté une pneumococcie invasive (en comparaison à un taux de mortalité de 2 à 4 % chez les jeunes enfants considérés comme étant également à haut risque)6. Le Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI) recommande un vaccin à dose unique pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes âgés de plus de 65 ans 7. Arrêtez la propagation. Si ce n’est pas pour vous, agissez pour vos petits-enfants.

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Vaccin contre virus du papillome humain (VPH) : Le vaccin contre le VPH : Ce que les ados doivent savoir. Comité des maladies infectieuses et immunisation de la SCP. Mise à jour : septembre 2010.
    http://www.soinsdenosenfants.cps.ca/handouts/hpv_vaccine_teens
  2. La prévention du virus du papillome humain (VPH) et le vaccin contre le VPH : Questions et réponses - Agence de la santé publique du Canada. 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/std-mts/hpv-vph/hpv-vph-vaccine-fra.php
  3. Dépliant : Protégez-vous contre le zona. Coalition canadienne pour la sensibilisation et la promotion de la vaccination (CCSPV). http://resources.cpha.ca/CCIAP/data/1720f.pdf
  4. Oxman MN et al. A Vaccine to Prevent Herpes Zoster and Postherpetic Neuralgia in Older Adults. N Engl J Med 2005; 352:2271-2284. (en anglais seulement)
    http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa051016 (en anglais seulement)
  5. L’infection à pneumocoque : ce qu’il faut savoir - Vaccinez votre enfant - Agence de la santé publique du Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/iyc-vve/faq-dis-mal/pneumo-fra.php
  6. Johnston BL, Conly JM. Routine adult immunization in Canada: Recommendations and performance. Can J Infect Dis. 2002 Jul-Aug; 13(4): 226–231. (en anglais seulement)
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2094878/
  7. Calendrier de vaccination : Recommendations du Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation (CCNI). Agence de la santé publique du Canada. 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/is-cv/index-fra.php