Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Protecting Loved Ones Against Meningitis


Meningitis is marked by inflammation of the meninges (the lining around the spinal cord and brain) due to an infection that can be caused by bacteria, viruses or fungi. 1 Bacterial meningitis is the most serious type, particularly for infants and young children. It can be fatal or cause permanent brain damage. Septicemia, a dangerous infection of the blood, also can occur with severe bacterial infections.2 The good news is that immunization can protect against many of the bacteria that cause bacterial meningitis.2

5 Ws of Bacterial Meningitis

Who is most affected? Young children and adolescents. University students are also at risk because of the sharing of items.3

What are the symptoms? Fever, irritability, lack of appetite, sore muscles and joints, sleepiness or trouble waking up, severe headache, stiff neck, sensitivity to bright light, nausea, vomiting, skin rash of red spots that do not disappear when you touch them (septicemia).2 ,4 Mild symptoms may worsen suddenly. Immediately seek medical attention if you suspect meningitis.

Where (and how) is it spread? Meningitis is transmitted through close contact such as coughing or sneezing, kissing, or by touching objects exposed to these bacteria.2 In addition to immunization, frequent hand washing is the best way to reduce transmission of germs.

Why immunize? Up to one in five healthy adults can be carriers of meningococcal meningitis without knowing that they have it,2 which means the bacteria could be passed on to children who are not immunized. Grandparents and anyone who has close contact with children should ensure that their vaccinations are up to date.

Immunizations against meningitis

Conjugated vaccines against the three major strains that lead to bacterial meningitis – meningococcus, pneumococcus, and Haemophilus influenzae type b – are now included in Canada’s routine childhood immunization programs.5 There are two main types of meningococcal conjugate vaccine currently available in Canada: serotype C meningococcal conjugate (MCV-C), and quadrivalent meningococcal conjugate meningococcal C vaccine conjugate (MCV-4) for serotypes A, C, Y, and W-135, which is effective in children two years and older against all four preventable types of the meningococcal germ.4

  • Children should be immunized (MCV-C) at 12 months of age, and may also receive an earlier dose any time between two and 12 months of age
  • Adolescents should receive a booster dose (MCV-C or MCV-4) at about 12 years of age
  • Adults may require boosters to maintain protection, and individuals at increased risk may require additional immunization4

Vaccines to help protect against causes of meningitis

There are two types of vaccine: polysaccharide vaccines are not effective in infants less than 2 years of age; conjugated vaccines are effective in infants starting at 2 months of age, and may provide longer-lasting immunity.5

Vaccines Against Meningococcus

Conjugated ACYW135 Vaccine [MCV-4]

  • Menactra®
  • Menveo®

Conjugated C Vaccines [MCV-C]

  • Menjugate®
  • NeisVac C®
  • Meningitech®

Polysaccharide Vaccines

  • ACYW135 (Menomune®) *no longer useful in children
  • AC (Mencevax AC®)

Multicomponent B Vaccine

  • Bexsero®

Vaccines Against Pneumococcus

Conjugated Vaccines

  • Prevnar®

Polysaccharide Vaccines

  • Pneumo23®
  • Pneumovax23®
  • Pnu-Immune23®

Vaccines Against Haemophilus influenzae type b

Conjugated Vaccines

  • Act-HIB®

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Meningitis Research Foundation of Canada What is meningitis?
    http://www.meningitis.ca/en/MeningitisOverview
  2. What you need to know about meningococcal meningitis - Immunize Your Child - Public Health Agency of Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/iyc-vve/faq-dis-mal/meningo-eng.php
  3. Shapiro M. Your Health - CTV MedNews Express. Many Canadians still confused about how to prevent meningitis. October 11, 2011.
  4. Meningitis Research Foundation of Canada. 
    http://www.meningitis.ca/en/Home.aspx
  5. CPS Infectious Diseases and Immunization Committee. Meningococcal vaccine. Updated: April 2012
    http://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/meningococcal_vaccine

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Protéger les êtres chers contre la méningite


La méningite est une inflammation des méninges (les membranes qui enveloppent la moelle épinière et le cerveau) qui peut être provoquée par des bactéries, des virus ou des champignons1. La méningite bactérienne est une infection très sérieuse, particulièrement chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants. Elle peut être mortelle ou causer des séquelles permanentes au cerveau. La septicémie, une forme grave d’empoisonnement du sang, peut être provoquée par une infection bactérienne sévère.2 La bonne nouvelle est que l’immunisation peut protéger contre plusieurs bactéries qui causent la méningite bactérienne.2

Les 5 questions sur la méningite bactérienne

Qui en sont le plus affectés? Les jeunes enfants et les adolescents. Les étudiants universitaires sont aussi à risque parce qu’ils partagent souvent leurs effets personnels.3

Quels sont les symptômes? Fièvre, irritabilité, perte d’appétit, douleurs musculaires, articulaires et abdominales, difficulté à s’éveiller ou somnolence, maux de têtes intenses, raideur de la nuque, sensibilité à la lumière intense, nausées, vomissements, éruptions cutanées ou rougeurs qui ne disparaissent pas au toucher (septicémie).2 et 4 Les symptômes qui commencent de façon bénigne peuvent évoluer et devenir sévères rapidement. Si on soupçonne une méningite, il faut consulter immédiatement.

Où (et comment) ça se répand? La méningite est transmise par des contacts physiques étroits et directs, tels que la toux ou les éternuements, les baisers ou par le partage d’objets contaminés2 Combiné à l’immunisation, le lavage fréquent des mains demeure une excellente méthode de réduction de transmission des germes.

Qui immuniser? Jusqu’à une personne sur cinq, chez les adultes en santé, est porteuse de la bactérie sans le savoir2, ce qui signifie que la bactérie peut se transmettre à des enfants non immunisés. Les grands-parents ou toute personne en contact avec les enfants devraient s’assurer que leurs vaccins sont à jour.

L’immunisation contre la méningite

Les vaccins conjugués contre les trois principales sources causant les méningites bactériennes - le méningocoque, le pneumocoque et l’ Haemophilus influenzae de type b - sont maintenant intégrés dans les programmes canadiens de vaccination systématique des enfants.5 Au Canada, il existe principalement 2 sortes de vaccins conjugués contre le méningocoque disponibles : le vaccin contre le méningocoque de type C (MenC-C) et le vaccin conjugué « quadrivalent » (MCV4) contre les sérotypes A, C, Y, W-135 efficace chez les enfants de 2 ans et plus et contre les 4 types de germe.4

  • Les enfants devraient être immunisés (MenC-C) à l’âge de 12 mois et peuvent aussi recevoir une dose plus jeune, en tout temps, entre l’âge de 2 et 12 mois.
  • Les adolescents devraient recevoir une dose de rappel (MenC-C ou MCV4) vers l’âge de 12 ans.
  • Les adultes peuvent recevoir une dose de rappel pour maintenir la protection et les personnes plus vulnérables peuvent avoir besoin d’une immunisation additionnelle.4

Vaccins qui protègent contre les causes de la méningite

Il existe deux types de vaccins : les polysaccharides qui ne sont pas efficaces chez les enfants âgés de 2 ans et moins et; les conjugués qui offrent une protection aux enfants à partir de l’âge de 2 mois avec une immunité plus durable.5

Vaccin antiméningoccique

Vaccin conjugué contre A, C, Y, W-135

  • Menactra®
  • Menveo®

Vaccins conjugués C

  • Menjugate®
  • NeisVac C®
  • Meningitech®

Vaccins polysaccharidiques

  • ACYW135 (Menomune®) *N'est plus désormais utile chez les enfants
  • AC (Mencevax AC®)

Vaccins de sérogroupe B

  • Bexsero®

Vaccin antipneumococcique

Vaccins conjugués

  • Prevnar®

Vaccins polysaccharidiques

  • Pneumo23®
  • Pneumovax23®
  • Pnu-Immune23®

Vaccin contre Haemophilus influenzae de type b

Vaccins conjugués

  • Act-HIB®

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Fondation canadienne de recherche sur la méningite. Qu’est-ce que la méningite?
    http://www.meningitis.ca/fr/Overview
  2. La méningite à méningocoques : ce qu’il faut savoir – Vaccinez votre enfant – Agence de la santé publique du Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/iyc-vve/faq-dis-mal/meningo-fra.php
  3. Shapiro M. Your Health - CTV MedNews Express. Many Canadians still confused about how to prevent meningitis. October 11, 2011.
  4. Fondation canadienne de recherche sur la méningite.
    http://www.meningitis.ca/fr/Home.aspx
  5. SCP Comité des maladies infectieuses et d'immunisation. Le vaccin contre le méningocoque. Mis à jour : Avril 2012 
    http://www.soinsdenosenfants.cps.ca/handouts/meningococcal_vaccine