Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Safe & Happy Trails


Travelling to an exotic location this winter? Part of your preparations should include a visit to your physician or local vaccinating clinic. Plan to look into your immunization status and travel health needs at least six weeks prior to your planned departure.1

Several potentially serious illnesses like measles, polio and cholera, have been recently identified or associated with outbreaks in some tourist destinations. Vaccinations are available to reduce your risk of these diseases, all of which may be transmitted from person to person.1, 2, 3 Polio and cholera are also transmitted through contaminated food or water. While most travellers are at low risk, safe food and water practices can help protect people travelling to areas where polio and cholera have not been eliminated.2, 3

Measles is highly infectious and one of the main causes of death in children worldwide. Outbreaks have occurred in many countries in North and South America, Africa, Asia and Europe. As a result, simply moving through international airports, including ones on Canadian soil, can put you at risk of exposure. Be sure you’ve had the necessary vaccinations, unless you’ve had a confirmed case of measles or a blood test has provided evidence of immunity.1

Polio can affect the central nervous system and, in severe cases, cause paralysis and death. Travellers in Afghanistan, Nigeria and Pakistan may be at risk of infection because polio has not been eliminated in those countries. Polio cases have been reported in Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Iraq, Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Syrian Arab Republic. Circulating vaccine-derived poliovirus is causing an outbreak in Madagascar, Guinea and Ukraine.7

Cholera is a serious intestinal infection that can cause diarrhea and sudden dehydration. The Dominican Republic and Haiti continue to work to reduce cholera cases since an epidemic began in 2010, and cases have also been reported in Cuba.3

Transmission stops with you

  • Make sure your vaccinations are up to date.1
  • Wash hands often, especially before eating and drinking.
  • Do not swim, wade or wash (even your clothing) in water that could be contaminated.
  • Avoid eating raw foods, especially shellfish and salads, unpasteurized dairy products, and food from street vendors.
  • Drink only purified water that has been boiled or sealed bottled water.4

Did you know? If you have ever had chickenpox, you can develop shingles. Shingles can cause long-lasting, severe pain. Being over age 50 increases not only the risk of developing shingles, but the likelihood that the condition will be more severe, with potentially disabling complications.5 To reduce that risk, Health Canada recommends that anyone over 60 get the shingles vaccine. People between 50 and 59 years old can also request the vaccine from their healthcare professional.6

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Measles: Global Update - Travel Health Notice-Public Health Agency of Canada. Updated: July 28, 2016.
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/travel-health-notices/98
  2. Polio: Global Update - Travel Health Notice - Public Health Agency of Canada. Updated: September 14, 2016.
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/travel-health-notices/93?_ga=1.28323964.1958495425.1473883249
  3. Cholera in Dominican Republic and Haiti - Travel Health Notice - Public Health Agency of Canada.
  4. Eat and Drink Safely. Date modified: 2013-5-30. 
    http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/food-water
  5. Herpes Zoster (Shingles) - Immunize Canada. Updated: September 2, 2016.
    http://www.immunize.ca/en/diseases-vaccines/herpeszoster.aspx
  6. Fact Sheet - Shingles (Herpes Zoster) - Public Health Agency of Canada. Updated August 2, 2016.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/id-mi/shingles-zona-fs-eng.php
  7. Global Polio Eradication Initiative. Key Countries.
    http://www.polioeradication.org/Keycountries.aspx

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Pour un voyage sans embûches


Vous prévoyez fuir l’hiver pour visiter des contrées exotiques? N’oubliez pas de rendre visite à votre médecin ou de faire un tour dans une clinique de vaccination. Pensez à consulter votre carnet de vaccination et à déterminer ce qu’il vous manque pour passer un voyage en santé, au moins six semaines avant votre départ1.

De nombreuses maladies potentiellement dangereuses comme la rougeole, la polio et le choléra ont récemment été détectées ou associées à des éclosions dans certaines destinations touristiques. Heureusement, des vaccins sont offerts pour réduire votre risque de contracter l’une de ces maladies transmissibles par le contact humain1, 2, 3. La polio et le choléra peuvent aussi être transmis dans les aliments ou l’eau contaminée. Même si le risque de les attraper est faible pour la majorité des voyageurs, on conseille aux gens qui visitent des régions où la polio et le choléra n’ont pas encore été éliminés de se protéger en adoptant des pratiques sécuritaires de consommation de nourriture et d’eau2, 3.

La rougeole est très infectieuse et représente l’une des principales causes de décès chez les enfants du monde entier. On dénombre des éclosions dans de nombreux pays de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Amérique du Sud, de l’Afrique, de l’Asie et de l’Europe. Par conséquent, vous courez le risque d’y être exposé dès que vous vous trouvez dans un aéroport international, même au Canada. Assurez-vous d’avoir reçu les vaccins nécessaires, à moins d’avoir eu un cas de rougeole confirmé ou qu’une analyse de sang prouve que vous y êtes immunisé1.

La polio peut s'attaquer au système nerveux central et, dans les cas les plus graves, mener à la paralysie ou à la mort. Les personnes qui voyagent en Afghanistan, au Nigéria ou au Pakistan peuvent être à risque de contracter la maladie, qui n’y a pas encore été éliminée. Certains cas de polio ont été signalés au Cameroun, Guinée équatoriale, Éthiopie, Irak, Nigeria, Somalie, Soudan du Sud et République arabe syrienne7.

Le choléra est une grave infection intestinale qui peut causer la diarrhée et une déshydratation rapide. En République dominicaine et en Haïti, les efforts de réduction des cas de choléra se poursuivent depuis le début de l’épidémie en 2010. Des cas ont également été signalés à Cuba3.

À vous d’arrêter la maladie

  • Assurez-vous que votre vaccination est à jour1.
  • Lavez souvent vos mains, surtout avant de manger ou de boire.
  • N’allez pas dans de l’eau contaminée, que ce soit pour nager, barboter ou vous laver (même vos vêtements).
  • Évitez de manger des aliments crus, surtout des mollusques, des crustacés et de la salade, des produits laitiers non pasteurisés et de la nourriture de rue.
  • Buvez uniquement de l’eau purifiée qui a été bouillie ou de l’eau dans des bouteilles scellées4.

Le saviez-vous? Les personnes qui ont déjà eu la varicelle pourraient développer le zona. Cette maladie peut causer des douleurs intenses qui perdurent. Les personnes âgées de 50 ans et plus ont plus de chances de contracter cette maladie, et il est plus probable qu’elle se manifeste de façon plus grave et qu’elle entraîne des complications invalidantes5. Pour réduire ce risque, le vaccin est recommandé à la majorité des personnes de 60 ans ou plus. Les personnes de 50 à 59 ans peuvent demander le vaccin à un professionnel de la santé6.

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. La rougeole : situation mondiale – Conseils de santé aux voyageurs – Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Mis à jour le 28 juillet, 2016.
    https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/conseils-sante-voyageurs/98
  2. Polio (poliomyélite): situation mondiale - Conseils de santé aux voyageurs - Gouvernement du Canada. Mis à jour le 14 septembre, 2016.
    https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/conseils-sante-voyageurs/93
  3. Choléra à Cuba, en République dominicaine et en Haïti – Conseils de santé aux voyageurs – Agence de la santé publique du Canada.
  4. Mangez et buvez en toute sécurité. Date de modification : 2013-5-30
    http://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/aliments-eau
  5. Herpès zoster (zona) - Immunisation Canada. Mis à jour le 2 septembre, 2016.
    https://www.immunize.ca/fr/ressources/feuille-de-renseignements-zona-herpes-zoster
  6. Feuille de renseignements - Zona (Herpes Zoster) - Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Mis à jour le 2 août, 2016.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/id-mi/shingles-zona-fs-fra.php
  7. Global Polio Eradication Initiative. Key Countries.
    http://www.polioeradication.org/Keycountries.aspx (disponible en anglais seulement)