Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

An ounce of prevention...


An ounce of prevention...

Sherry and her family had been looking forward to their Caribbean holiday for months. When they finally arrived, the first thing they did was stop for a bite to eat and some lemonade. The next day, the family was preparing to go sightseeing, and that’s when it hit. Sherry started having stomach cramps and sweating profusely, and the next thing she knew she was running to the bathroom every 10 minutes with diarrhea.

A reported 98% of travellers will make a food or drink error within the first few days of arriving at a foreign destination.1 And that can result in traveller’s diarrhea – most often caused by consuming food or water contaminated with bacteria called enterotoxigenic E. coli (ETEC). Germs that cause traveller’s diarrhea can also be transmitted from person to person (including restaurant food handlers) due to poor hygiene.2

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) estimates that 30% to 70% of visitors to a tropical region will have at least one episode of diarrhea.2 And while it usually resolves on its own within 3 to 5 days, traveller’s diarrhea – often associated with fever, nausea, vomiting, bloating, and abdominal cramping, as well as loose, watery stools3 – has ruined many a vacation.

Preventive measures may be recommended for some people heading to tropical destinations, including the Caribbean. The oral 2-dose vaccine, Dukoral, approved by Health Canada, offers some protection against traveller’s diarrhea and cholera, also marked by diarrhea.3 The young, the elderly, and people with chronic health conditions are at increased risk of these [and other] infections, and may suffer more serious consequences if they become ill.4

Overall, a bit of planning and prevention can help ensure healthy travels. A sensible first step is to consult your physician or travel clinic at least 6 weeks in advance, to make sure you have all the vaccinations you need for your destination and planned activities.4

Measles, a potentially serious and highly contagious disease, is a growing concern both at home and abroad. The World Health Organization (WHO) has reported outbreaks in numerous travel destinations including Brazil and India, and smaller flare-ups in France, Israel and Italy. The CDC advises international travelers to be fully vaccinated against measles at least two weeks before you depart – or failing that, to have at least one dose of MMR (measles-mumps-rubella) vaccine.5

Other vaccine considerations – especially for travel to tropical areas such as the Caribbean – include hepatitis A and typhoid, which are also transmitted by contaminated food and water. And adventuresome individuals who may get a tattoo to commemorate their holiday, or be exploring caves or places inhabited by bats, may benefit from vaccination to protect against hepatitis B, rabies, and Yellow Fever.5

Planned destinations and activities should be discussed with a physician or travel clinic advisor. While there are no vaccines to protect against Zika virus and malaria, these mosquito-borne illnesses are concerns in many tropical regions. Take along protective clothing (i.e. light-coloured, loose clothing that covers arms and legs), hats, closed-toe footwear, and approved insect repellent.6 And don’t forget to pack other essentials such as sunscreen and alcohol-based hand sanitizer4 in case soap and clean water are not available.

Regardless of their destination, travellers are advised to ensure that they are up to date with routine immunizations vaccines. In addition to MMR, these include diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis vaccine; varicella (chickenpox) vaccine; polio vaccine; and the yearly flu shot.5

Find a TRAVEL clinic near me

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Factsheet: travel vaccines – enterically borne
    http://www.bcpeds.ca/uploadfiles/documents/npfv/Travel_Vaccines.pdf
  2. Travelers' Diarrhea
    https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2020/preparing-international-travelers/travelers-diarrhea
  3. Traveller's Diarrhea and Cholera Vaccine
    https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthlinkbc-files/travellers-diarrhea-cholera-vaccine
  4. Travellers' diarrhea
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/diarrhea.html
  5. Zika virus: Advice for travellers
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/travel-health-notices/152

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Un soupçon de prévention...


Un soupçon de prévention...

Sherry et sa famille attendaient leur voyage aux Caraïbes avec impatience depuis plusieurs mois. Dès leur arrivée, ils se sont arrêtés pour prendre une bouchée et une limonade. Le lendemain, alors qu’ils se préparaient pour une visite, la turista fit une entrée en scène remarquée! Sherry a d’abord eu des crampes abdominales et s’est mise à transpirer abondamment; peu après, elle avait la diarrhée et courait aux toilettes toutes les 10 minutes.

Jusqu’à 98% des voyageurs consomment une boisson ou un aliment contaminés dans les premiers jours suivant leur arrivée en terre étrangère1. Le plus souvent, il s’agit d’eau ou d’aliments contaminés par la bactérie E. coli entérotoxinogène (ETEC). Les germes responsables de la diarrhée du voyageur peuvent aussi se transmettre d’une personne (p. ex. employés de restaurant) à une autre par manque d’hygiène2.

Les Centers for Disease Control (CDC) estiment que 30 à 70 % des voyageurs se rendant dans une région tropicale auront au moins un épisode de diarrhée2. Même si, en général, elle disparaît d’elle-même dans les 3 à 5 jours, la diarrhée du voyageur (selles molles ou aqueuses) – qui s’accompagne souvent de fièvre, de nausées, de vomissements, de ballonnements et de crampes abdominales3 – gâche les vacances de bien des gens!

Les personnes qui se dirigent vers une destination tropicale, les Caraïbes par exemple, ont intérêt à prendre des mesures de prévention. Dukoral, le vaccin oral en 2 doses homologué par Santé Canada, réduit le risque de diarrhée du voyageur et de choléra, aussi caractérisé par la diarrhée3. Les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes souffrant d’une maladie chronique sont plus vulnérables à ces infections [et à d’autres], et les conséquences peuvent aussi être plus graves s’ils contractent la maladie4.

En général, il suffit d’un peu de planification et de prévention pour éviter les problèmes de santé en voyage. Logiquement, la première mesure à prendre est de consulter votre médecin ou d’aller dans une clinique de voyage au moins 6 semaines avant votre départ afin de recevoir tous les vaccins requis selon votre destination et les activités que vous avez planifiées4.

La rougeole – maladie potentiellement grave et très contagieuse – connaît une recrudescence inquiétante au pays et à l’étranger. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) fait état de nombreuses éclosions dans beaucoup de destinations touristiques, dont le Brésil et l’Inde, et de plus petites éclosions en France, en Israël et en Italie. Les CDC recommandent aux voyageurs d’avoir reçu les deux doses du vaccin contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole (ROR) au moins 2 semaines avant le départ5 ou, à tout le moins, d’avoir reçu la première dose.

Les voyageurs, à plus forte raison s’ils se dirigent vers une région tropicale comme les Caraïbes –peuvent aussi contracter l’hépatite A et la fièvre typhoïde en consommant de l’eau et des aliments contaminés. Les plus intrépides qui se feront tatouer en souvenir de leur voyage ou exploreront des grottes ou des endroits habités par des chauves-souris, auraient intérêt à se faire vacciner contre l’hépatite B, la rage et la fièvre jaune5.

Vous devriez discuter de votre destination et de vos projets avec un médecin ou un conseiller de la clinique de voyage. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de vaccins contre le virus Zika et la malaria, ces maladies transmises par les moustiques constituent un risque dans plusieurs régions tropicales. Prévoyez des vêtements de protection (vêtements amples de couleur pâle qui recouvrent les bras et les jambes), un chapeau, des chaussures fermées et un insectifuge approuvé6. N’oubliez pas non plus d’autres articles essentiels comme un écran solaire et un désinfectant pour les mains à base d’alcool4 au cas où vous n’auriez pas accès à du savon et à de l’eau propre.

Quelle que soit leur destination, tous les voyageurs devraient avoir reçu les vaccins de base, à savoir : vaccin ROR, vaccin contre la diphtérie, le tétanos et la coqueluche (DTC), vaccin contre la varicelle, vaccin contre la polio et vaccin antigrippal annuel5.

Trouver une clinique de vaccination

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Factsheet: travel vaccines – enterically borne
    http://www.bcpeds.ca/uploadfiles/documents/npfv/Travel_Vaccines.pdf
  2. Travelers' Diarrhea
    https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2020/preparing-international-travelers/travelers-diarrhea
  3. Traveller's Diarrhea and Cholera Vaccine
    https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthlinkbc-files/travellers-diarrhea-cholera-vaccine
  4. Travellers' diarrhea
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/diarrhea.html
  5. Zika virus: Advice for travellers
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/travel-health-notices/152