At home or away, keep your family healthy!
Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

At home or away, keep your family healthy!


In autumn, Canadians begin to spend more time indoors – and this is when illnesses like influenza and pneumonia are most common and also easily spread, especially to people who have not been vaccinated.

Who has greatest risk of flu complications? Seniors (especially nursing home residents), babies and toddlers, indigenous people, and people with chronic illnesses including heart disease, lung disease, stroke, immune-compromising and neurological conditions.

Protect your family – for some, the flu can have serious consequences, such as pneumonia. Vaccinating the whole family helps protect those most likely to be hit hard. And bonus – when enough people in a community are immunized, everyone benefits from that “herd immunity” effect.

Vaccination against the flu is advised for all Canadians over 6 months of age.

People age 65 and over should be aware of two enhanced flu vaccines that provide increased protection compared with standard flu vaccines. One contains a higher dose of virus antigen, and the other contains the standard dose of antigen plus an added ingredient (adjuvant) that creates a stronger immune response to vaccination.

This important innovation enhances protection for older adults, who produce 50 to 75 percent fewer antibodies in response to immunization than younger adults. Both enhanced vaccines are recommended for seniors as acceptable alternatives to the standard flu vaccine.

Travel plans?

If your family is getting away this flu season, make sure all of your vaccines are up to date. Don’t let your trip be ruined by traveller’s diarrhea – a greater risk in developing countries – or shingles, which causes a painful, often blistering rash and is more common in people over age 50.

Travellers – especially children under age 5 and seniors over age 65 – may be at higher risk for pneumonia, especially if they spend time in crowded places or with children who have not received this vaccination.

The pneumococcal vaccine is included in the routine immunizations given to children in Canada. A one-time shot is also recommended for seniors, and you can get it at the same time as your flu shot.

Remember - some contagious illnesses rarely seen in Canada may be more common in other countries. A few vaccine-preventable illnesses reported in far-flung travel destinations during 2017 include measles, yellow fever, polio and cholera. You may also want to consider vaccinations to protect against hepatitis, meningococcal disease, human papilloma virus, typhoid, and tetanus.

Visit Vaccines411 travel brochure page to assess your personal travel risks. Then, follow up with your travel vaccine clinic or healthcare provider at least 6 weeks before your departure to discuss your vaccine options. Here’s to safe and happy travels!

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Canadian Immunization Guide Chapter on Influenza and Statement on Seasonal Influenza Vaccine for 2017–2018
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/canadian-immunization-guide-statement-seasonal-influenza-vaccine-2017-2018.html
  2. Travel health notices
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/travel-health-notices
  3. The Complete Traveler's Clinic
    http://www.thecompletetraveler.ca/immunization.html

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

À la maison ou ailleurs, gardez votre famille en santé !


En automne, les Canadiens commencent à passer plus de temps à l'intérieur – et c'est alors que des maladies comme la grippe et la pneumonie sont les plus fréquentes et se répandent le plus facilement, en particulier chez les personnes non vaccinées.

Qui sont les personnes les plus vulnérables aux complications de la grippe? Les aînés (surtout les personnes qui vivent dans des maisons de soins infirmiers), les bébés, les jeunes enfants, les autochtones et les personnes atteintes d'affections chroniques, de maladies cardiaques, de maladies pulmonaires, celles qui présentent un déficit immunitaire ou qui souffrent d'un trouble neurologique et les victimes d'AVC.

Protégez votre famille – pour certaines personnes, la grippe peut avoir de graves conséquences, dont la pneumonie. Si tous les membres de la famille sont vaccinés, cela aide à protéger les personnes les plus à risque. En prime, lorsqu'un nombre suffisant de personnes d'une communauté sont vaccinées, tous bénéficient de l'immunité de groupe.

Le vaccin contre la grippe est conseillé pour tous les Canadiens de plus de 6 mois.

Les personnes de 65 ans et plus doivent aussi savoir que deux vaccins améliorés leur offrent une protection accrue par rapport aux vaccins antigrippaux usuels. Le premier contient une dose plus élevée d'antigène du virus, et le second contient la dose habituelle d'antigène et un ingrédient ajouté (adjuvant) qui provoque une réponse immunitaire plus forte.

Cette innovation importante améliore la protection pour les personnes âgées, car elles produisent habituellement de 50 à 75 pour cent moins d'anticorps que les adultes plus jeunes en réponse au vaccin. Pour les aînés, les deux vaccins améliorés sont recommandés comme remplacement acceptable du vaccin antigrippal normal.

Des voyages en perspective?

Si vous ou votre famille prévoyez un voyage au cours de la prochaine saison de la grippe, assurez-vous que vos vaccins sont à jour. La diarrhée du voyageur (fréquente dans les pays en développement) ou le zona (qui provoque une éruption cutanée et parfois même des cloques chez de nombreuses personnes de plus de 50 ans) pourraient ruiner votre séjour à l'étranger.

Certains voyageurs – en particulier les enfants de moins de 5 ans et les personnes de plus de 65 ans – peuvent être plus à risque de pneumonie, surtout s'ils passent du temps dans des endroits bondés de gens ou avec des enfants non vaccinés.

Au Canada, le vaccin antipneumococcique fait partie des vaccins de routine administrés aux enfants. Un vaccin à dose unique est aussi conseillé aux personnes âgées qui peuvent le recevoir en même temps que le vaccin antigrippal.

N'oubliez pas – certaines maladies contagieuses rarement vues au Canada peuvent être fort répandues ailleurs. En 2017, des maladies évitables par la vaccination ont d’ailleurs été signalées dans des destinations voyages : rougeole, fièvre jaune, poliomyélite et choléra. D'autres vaccins à envisager sont les vaccins contre l'hépatite, la méningite à méningocoques, le virus du papillome humain, la typhoïde et le tétanos.

Visitez la page sur les vaccins pour voyageurs pour évaluer les risques que vous pourriez courir pendant vos voyages. Faites alors un suivi avec votre clinique de vaccination ou votre fournisseur de soins de santé au moins six semaines avant votre départ pour déterminer les vaccins dont vous pourriez avoir besoin. Nous vous souhaitons des voyages agréables et en santé!

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Guide canadien d'immunisation et Déclaration sur la vaccination antigrippale pour la saison 2017-2018
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/guide-canadien-immunisation-declaration-vaccination-antigrippale-2017-2018.html
  2. Conseils de santé aux voyageurs
    https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/conseils-sante-voyageurs
  3. The Complete Traveler's Clinic
    (en anglais seulment)
    http://www.thecompletetraveler.ca/immunization.html