Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Immunizations to consider when starting a family during COVID-19


Immunizations to consider when starting a family during COVID-19

To say the last year has changed life as we knew it is an understatement. Think of all the ways we’ve had to adjust socially as a result: the muted dating scene, the postponed weddings, the uncelebrated engagements, the balcony baby showers. Despite confinement, humans have nevertheless found ways to celebrate progress, and yes, that means starting a new family, too! Sure, ultrasounds and routine exams usually leave expecting parents to videocall each other from the examination room to the car, but if these last few months have taught us anything at all, it’s that life very much goes on.

Not sure what to expect vaccinations-wise when you’re expecting during COVID-19? Here are important immunizations to ask your health care provider about if you think you’re missing some.

Can you get vaccines if you’re already pregnant?

To start trying is a big decision for anyone – global pandemic or not – and access to immunization will actually change depending on whether there’s a bun in the oven! Inactive vaccines, which contain a virus or bacteria that is already dead and can’t cause disease, are considered safe to use during pregnancy (see table below).1 Then, there are the types of vaccines that are not recommended when pregnant: live-attenuated vaccines. These contain weakened bacteria or viruses and, though they are unlikely to cause a disease in healthy people, it is possible that they pose a risk to developing embryos.

Examples of inactive and live-attenuated vaccines

Inactive

Live-attenuated

Pertussis (whooping cough)

Measles

Influenza (seasonal flu)

Mumps

Tetanus and diphtheria

Rubella

What immunizations do you need before getting pregnant?

During pregnancy, the immune system is weakened so that the body does not reject the fetus.2 It’s important to get vaccinated against common, preventable diseases before pregnancy to avoid putting the baby’s health at risk.  

  1. Chickenpox: Unsure if you’re immune to chickenpox? Your doctor can determine if vaccination will be required based on the routine results of a blood test.
  2. Hepatitis B: Hep B can be easily passed onto an unborn child, so it’s important to determine that you are protected against it. Though the series of shots can be started before conception occurs, its completion can be carried on after an active pregnancy is detected.
  3. HPV: The HPV vaccine is recommended for children and adults aged nine to 45 years.3 Doses should not be taken while pregnant, but if they were started before a pregnancy, the series can resume once the baby has been delivered.
  4. Measles, mumps and rubella: These diseases could cause severe disfiguration and even lead to miscarriage if a pregnant person gets infected. Though the vaccine is not safe to get during pregnancy, it should be administered before conception.

What immunizations can you get while pregnant?

There are two main vaccines that pregnant people are encouraged to get to improve their immunity4:

  1. Tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis: Tetanus can severely affect the nervous system, and diphtheria and pertussis can cause irreparable damage to one’s respiratory system. It is recommended that, in order to prevent these adverse effects, the Tdap shot be administered during pregnancy between 27 and 36 weeks. Part of the immunization is even passed on to the baby until the newborn can get preventative vaccines of their own.
  2. Influenza: A pregnant person is particularly vulnerable to the seasonal flu due to their weakened immune system and risks becoming severely ill. Even if you’ve gotten the vaccine in the past, it’s important to seek protection annually as this virus mutates regularly.

Have any questions about immunization before and during pregnancy? Talk to your doctor or health care provider to know where to begin.

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Vaccination - Pregnancy Info
    https://www.pregnancyinfo.ca/your-pregnancy/routine-tests/vaccination/
  2. Vaccines to Get Before and During Pregnancy
    whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/pregnancy-health/vaccines-before-during-pregnancy/
  3. What if you could help prevent CERVICAL CANCER with a vaccine?
    https://www.gardasil9.ca/
  4. Which vaccines should I get if I am pregnant?
    https://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/concerns/vaccines-during-pregnancy.html#:~:text=CDC%20recommends%20that%20pregnant%20women,vaccine)%20and%20the%20Tdap%20vaccine

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Vaccins à envisager avant de fonder une famille à l’ère de la COVID-19


Vaccins à envisager avant de fonder une famille à l’ère de la COVID-19

L’avènement de la COVID-19 a métamorphosé nos vies, rien de moins. Il suffit de penser à toutes les implications sociales : mutation des rencontres amoureuses, report des mariages, fiançailles et « showers » de bébé non célébrés, etc. Malgré le confinement, les êtres humains ont trouvé le moyen d’avancer... et oui, fonder une famille est possible même en période de pandémie! Au moment de l’échographie et des examens de routine, les deux conjoints se parlent par vidéoconférence, l’une dans la salle d’examen, l’autre dans la voiture. S’il y a un enseignement à tirer des derniers mois, c’est bien que la vie continue malgré tout.

Vous vous demandez quels vaccins vous devriez recevoir pendant la grossesse en cette ère de COVID-19? Vous trouverez dans les lignes qui suivent les vaccins importants dont vous devriez discuter avec un professionnel de la santé si vous pensez en avoir raté un ou plusieurs.

Puis-je me faire vacciner si je suis déjà enceinte?

Le projet de concevoir un enfant est une grosse décision pour n’importe quel couple – pandémie ou pas – et l’accès à la vaccination varie selon qu’il y a déjà un polichinelle dans le tiroir ou non. Les vaccins inactivés – c.-à-d. qui contiennent une bactérie ou un virus déjà mort et ne peuvent pas causer de maladie – sont considérés comme sûrs pendant la grossesse (voir le tableau ci-dessous)1. Les vaccins à virus vivant atténué – autre type de vaccin – ne sont toutefois pas recommandés durant la grossesse. Ce type de vaccin – qui renferme une bactérie ou un virus de puissance affaiblie – est peu susceptible de causer du tort à une personne en santé, mais pourrait être dangereux pour un embryon en développement.

Exemples de vaccins inactivés et de vaccins à virus vivant atténué

Inactivés

Virus vivant atténué

Coqueluche

Rougeole

Grippe (saisonnière)

Oreillons

Tétanos et diphtérie

Rubéole

Quels vaccins dois-je recevoir avant de devenir enceinte?

La grossesse affaiblit le système immunitaire de la mère pour que l’organisme tolère le fœtus2. Il est important de se faire vacciner contre les maladies courantes évitables par la vaccination avant la grossesse de manière à ne pas mettre en péril la santé du bébé.

  1. Varicelle : Vous vous demandez si vous être immunisée contre la varicelle? Votre médecin pourra déterminer si la vaccination s’impose à la lumière des résultats d’un simple test sanguin.
  2. Hépatite B : L’hépatite B se transmet facilement à l’enfant à naître, de sorte qu’il est important de savoir si vous avez la protection voulue. La série d’injections peut commencer avant la conception et se terminer durant la grossesse.
  3. VPH : Le vaccin contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH) est recommandé pour les enfants et les adultes âgés de 9 à 45 ans3. Les doses ne doivent pas être administrées durant la grossesse, mais si les premières ont été administrées avant la grossesse, la série pourra se poursuivre après l’accouchement.
  4. Rougeole, rubéole et oreillons (RRO) : Ces maladies peuvent non seulement laisser des cicatrices, mais aussi entraîner une fausse-couche si l’infection se produit pendant la grossesse. Le vaccin n’étant pas sûr pendant la grossesse, il doit être donné avant la conception.

Quels vaccins puis-je recevoir si je suis enceinte?

Il y a deux vaccins que la femme enceinte a tout intérêt à recevoir afin de stimuler son immunité4 :

  1. Diphtérie, coqueluche et tétanos : Le tétanos peut affecter gravement le système nerveux, alors que la diphtérie et la coqueluche peuvent entraîner des lésions respiratoires irréversibles. Afin de prévenir ces problèmes majeurs, il est recommandé d’administrer le vaccin dcaT pendant la grossesse, entre la 27e et la 36e semaine. La vaccination offre une protection au nouveau-né avant qu’il ne puisse lui-même être vacciné.
  2. Grippe : En raison de son système immunitaire affaibli, la femme enceinte est particulièrement vulnérable à une forme sévère de la grippe saisonnière. Le fait d’avoir déjà reçu le vaccin antigrippal ne suffit pas; en raison des mutations fréquentes du virus grippal, il est important de se faire vacciner chaque année.

Vous avez des questions sur la vaccination avant et pendant la grossesse? Parlez à votre médecin ou à un autre professionnel de la santé pour savoir où commencer.

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Vaccination - Pregnancy Info
    https://www.pregnancyinfo.ca/your-pregnancy/routine-tests/vaccination/ (en anglais seulement)
  2. Vaccines to Get Before and During Pregnancy
    whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/pregnancy-health/vaccines-before-during-pregnancy/ (en anglais seulement)
  3. Et si vous pouviez aider à prévenir le cancer du col de l’utérus grâce à un vaccin?
    https://www.gardasil9.ca/fr/
  4. Which vaccines should I get if I am pregnant?
    https://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/concerns/vaccines-during-pregnancy.html#:~:text=CDC%20recommends%20that%20pregnant%20women,vaccine)%20and%20the%20Tdap%20vaccine (en anglais seulement)