Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Preventing flu in the time of COVID


Preventing flu in the time of COVID

This year, getting your flu vaccination is especially important to protect older adults who are more susceptible to both the flu and COVID-19.

Is it flu or is it COVID-19?

These two contagious respiratory infections share many of the same symptoms - fever, cough, sore throat, shortness of breath, headache, fatigue, and muscle pain. Key differences that distinguish COVID-19 are the loss of sense of smell or ability to taste. 1

The risk of developing another respiratory infection (such as the flu or pneumonia) in addition to COVID-19 is a serious concern – co-infections have been reported in up to 20% of COVID-19-positive patients who presented with a respiratory viral syndrome early in the pandemic.2

Do your part to fight the flu

The Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) notes that each year, an average of 12,200 people are hospitalized for the flu and 3,500 people die of it annually. Everyone over the age of 6 months should receive the flu vaccine every year between Oct and December, before the virus starts spreading. This is especially important for individuals who have a heart or lung condition, or are in contact with vulnerable or elderly individuals.

Vaccination will help protect you and others unable to receive it, such as babies under 6 months of age.3 This year, more Canadians plan to get the flu vaccine than in the past – rates are expected to increase from 40% to ~ 60%.4

Influenza vaccination works

This past flu season, flu vaccination prevented an estimated 60% of infections that would have affected unvaccinated people.3 In addition to the inactivated trivalent or quadrivalent influenza vaccines, and the live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) nasal spray options, two new vaccines are licensed for adults 65 years of age and older during the upcoming flu season.5

The flu increases pneumonia risk

Influenza is a common cause of pneumonia. Risk of developing pneumonia with potentially deadly complications is highest for young children, the elderly (especially nursing home residents), pregnant women, and people with chronic health conditions.6

In addition to being vaccinated for influenza, two vaccines help prevent invasive pneumococcal disease (IPD), a serious infection caused by Streptococcus pneumoniae – pneumococcal conjugate 13-valent (Pneu-C-13) vaccine, and pneumococcal polysaccharide 23-valent (Pneu-P-23) vaccine. Usually, only one vaccination is needed.7

COVID-19: The battle continues

We all need to persist with our efforts to reduce the spread of COVID-19.  Without any public health interventions, it is estimated that two-thirds of Canadians will catch the virus. People affected by cancer, kidney, heart or lung disease, obesity, Type 2 diabetes, or are immunocompromised are at greater risk of becoming severely ill if they develop COVID-19 or influenza.8 Learn more at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html

With these highly contagious respiratory infections in mind this fall, continue with all the recommended measures – hand washing, social distancing, wearing a mask in public, sneezing/ coughing into your elbow, and avoiding large gatherings, especially indoors.4 Do your part to stay safe!

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Similarities and differences between flu and COVID-19
    https://healthcare.utah.edu/healthfeed/postings/2020/07/flu-coronavirus.php
  2. Researchers report 21% COVID-19 co-infection rate
    https://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2020/04/researchers-report-21-covid-19-co-infection-rate
  3. Flu vaccine prevented about 60 per cent of cases in Canada this season: study
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/flu-vaccine-prevented-about-60-per-cent-of-cases-in-canada-this-season-study-1.4821183
  4. Flu shot more important than ever during COVID-19 pandemic, expert says
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/flu-shot-more-important-than-ever-during-covid-19-pandemic-expert-says-1.5062695
  5. Frequently Asked Influenza (Flu) Questions: 2020-2021 Season
    https://www.cdc.gov/flu/season/faq-flu-season-2020-2021.htm
  6. Five Facts You Should Know About Pneumonia
    https://www.lung.org/lung-health-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/pneumonia/five-facts-you-should-know
  7. Pneumococcal conjugate 13-valent vaccine (Prevnar®13) for adults with high risk medical conditions: Q&A for health care providers
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/programs/immunization/docs/pcv_hcp_qa_en.pdf
  8. Testing, tracing and distancing key to prevent COVID-19 resurgence, new models show
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/testing-tracing-and-distancing-key-to-prevent-covid-19-resurgence-new-models-show-1.5058979

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Prévenir la grippe à l’ère de la COVID-19


Prévenir la grippe à l’ère de la COVID-19

Cette année, il est particulièrement important de vous faire vacciner contre la grippe pour protéger les adultes âgés, lesquels sont plus vulnérables à la fois à la grippe et à la COVID-19.

S’agit-il de la grippe ou de la COVID-19?

Ces deux infections respiratoires contagieuses ont de nombreux symptômes en commun : fièvre, toux, mal de gorge, essoufflement, mal de tête, fatigue, et douleurs musculaires. La perte de l’odorat et du goût sont les principales particularités de la COVID-191.

Le risque de développer une infection respiratoire (comme la grippe ou une pneumonie) qui s’ajouterait à la COVID-19 est très préoccupant. Au début de la pandémie, on a rapporté des surinfections chez jusqu’à 20 % des patients positifs à la COVID-19 qui présentaient un syndrome viral respiratoire2.

Contribuez à la lutte contre la grippe

L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada précise que, chaque année, en moyenne, 12 200 personnes sont hospitalisées pour cause de grippe et 3500 personnes en meurent. Toute personne de plus de 6 mois devrait recevoir le vaccin antigrippal une fois par année, entre octobre et décembre, avant que le virus commence à se propager. La vaccination est particulièrement importante pour les personnes qui souffrent d’une maladie cardiaque ou pulmonaire ou qui sont en contact avec des personnes vulnérables ou âgées.

La vaccination contribue à votre protection personnelle et à celle de ceux qui ne peuvent être vaccinés, comme les bébés de moins de 6 mois3. Cette année, un plus grand nombre de Canadiens ont l’intention de se faire vacciner contre la grippe; on s’attend à ce que le taux passe de 40 % à environ 60 %4.
 

Le vaccin antigrippal est efficace

Lors de la dernière saison grippale, le vaccin antigrippal a permis de prévenir environ 60 % des infections qui auraient touché les personnes non vaccinées3. Aux vaccins antigrippaux trivalents ou quadrivalents inactivés et aux vaccins antigrippaux à virus vivant atténué qui s’administrent par voie intranasale, s’ajouteront en prévision de la prochaine saison grippale deux nouveaux vaccins homologués pour les adultes de 65 ans ou plus5.

La grippe augmente le risque de pneumonie

La grippe est souvent à l’origine de pneumonies. Le risque d’apparition d’une pneumonie et de complications potentiellement mortelles est maximal chez les jeunes enfants, les personnes âgées (surtout celles qui vivent en résidence), les femmes enceintes et les personnes aux prises avec une maladie chronique6.

Au-delà du vaccin antigrippal, deux vaccins aident à prévenir les infections invasives à pneumocoque, infections graves causées par Streptococcus pneumoniae : le vaccin antipneumococcique conjugué 13-valent (pneu-C-13), et le vaccin antipneumococcique polysaccharidique 23-valent (pneu-P-23). En général, un seul de ces deux vaccins est nécessaire7.

COVID-19 : La lutte se poursuit

Nous devons tous persévérer dans les efforts que nous déployons pour contenir la propagation de la COVID-19. Sans intervention des autorités sanitaires, on estime que les deux tiers des Canadiens seraient infectés par le virus. Les personnes atteintes de cancer, d’une maladie rénale, cardiaque ou pulmonaire, d’obésité ou de diabète de type 2, ou immunodéprimées sont plus à risque d’être gravement malades si elles contractent la COVID-19 ou la grippe8. Pour en savoir plus : https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html (en anglais)

Cet automne, gardez à l’esprit de bien vous protéger contre ces infections respiratoires hautement contagieuses en continuant d’appliquer les mesures d’hygiène recommandées : lavez-vous les mains, maintenez la distance physique requise, portez un masque en public, éternuez/toussez dans votre coude, et évitez les grands rassemblements, surtout intérieurs4. Contribuez à votre propre protection!

Cet article vous est offert par Vaccins411.ca – Sachez où aller pour vous faire vacciner !

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Similarities and differences between flu and COVID-19
    https://healthcare.utah.edu/healthfeed/postings/2020/07/flu-coronavirus.php (en anglais seulement)
  2. Researchers report 21% COVID-19 co-infection rate
    https://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2020/04/researchers-report-21-covid-19-co-infection-rate (en anglais seulement)
  3. Flu vaccine prevented about 60 per cent of cases in Canada this season: study
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/flu-vaccine-prevented-about-60-per-cent-of-cases-in-canada-this-season-study-1.4821183 (en anglais seulement)
  4. Flu shot more important than ever during COVID-19 pandemic, expert says
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/flu-shot-more-important-than-ever-during-covid-19-pandemic-expert-says-1.5062695 (en anglais seulement)
  5. Frequently Asked Influenza (Flu) Questions: 2020-2021 Season
    https://www.cdc.gov/flu/season/faq-flu-season-2020-2021.htm (en anglais seulement)
  6. Five Facts You Should Know About Pneumonia
    https://www.lung.org/lung-health-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/pneumonia/five-facts-you-should-know (en anglais seulement)
  7. Vaccin antipneumococcique conjugué 13-valent (PrevnarMD 13) pour les adultes qui présentent des conditions médicales à risque élevé : FAQ destinée aux fournisseurs de soins de santé
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/fr/public/programs/immunization/docs/pcv_hcp_qa_fr.pdf
  8. Testing, tracing and distancing key to prevent COVID-19 resurgence, new models show
    https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/testing-tracing-and-distancing-key-to-prevent-covid-19-resurgence-new-models-show-1.5058979 (en anglais seulement)