Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Senior years – a golden opportunity to immunize!


Senior years – a golden opportunity to immunize!

Winter is a peak time for people to gather in confined spaces, whether it’s at a Christmas concert or on an airplane. As we age, we become more vulnerable to contagious illnesses and their complications.

Winter crowds leave Canadians more likely to have direct or indirect exposure to infected respiratory droplets from coughs, sneezes, and contact with contaminated surfaces. Two illnesses spread in this way are the flu and invasive pneumococcal disease (IPD), caused by infection with the streptococcus pneumoniae bacteria, which most commonly develops as pneumonia.

Approximately 12,200 Canadians are hospitalized with the flu each year, and 3,500 do not survive the illness. The risk of pneumococcal disease increases as we age – approximately 40% of cases of IPD occur in people over the age of 60.(1,2) For more information visit our flu resources page.

Remember the chicken pox?

About 90% of Canadians had chicken pox as children. Did you know that the varicella-zoster virus that caused it remains dormant in spinal nerves, and may be reactivated years later?

Usually after age 50, one in three of us will be affected by these painful blisters that develop in a strip or patch on one side of the torso or less often, the face.(3)

Luckily, we can reduce our risks of developing these illnesses. The seasonal flu shot is recommended for all Canadians over 6 months of age. Pneumococcal vaccine is advised for anyone over 65 years of age. And if you are over age 50, you will benefit from the shingles vaccine, which is recommended at age 60 and over. (1-3)

Visit the Vaccines411 Adult Immunizations e-brochure to learn more about vaccines you may need.

Looking to travel safely?

You don’t need to travel to remote locations or away from your resort to be at risk of developing serious illnesses – some are very common in much of the developing world, including areas of the Caribbean, as well as South and Central America, Africa and Asia.

Consuming contaminated food or water and person to person contact put you at risk of developing hepatitis A and B, typhoid fever, and traveller’s diarrhea. Having personal services such as a manicure, pedicure, piercing, or acupuncture, can expose you to bodily fluids carrying the hepatitis B infection. Various diseases, including hepatitis A and hepatitis B, are transmitted by sexual activity with an infected person.(4-7)

Visit the Vaccines411 Travel e-Brochure to learn more about travel vaccines. Talk to your healthcare professional 6 to 8 weeks before you plan to travel – and get the vaccinations that will help protect you, depending on your destination and planned activities.

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. For health professionals: Flu (influenza)
    http://www.healthycanadians.gc.ca/diseases-conditions-maladies-affections/disease-maladie/flu-grippe/professionals-professionnels-eng.php
  2. Invasive Pneumococcal Disease
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/vpd-mev/pneumococcal-pneumococcie/professionals-professionnels-eng.php
  3. Herpes Zoster (Shingles)
    http://www.immunize.ca/en/diseases-vaccines/herpeszoster.aspx
  4. Hepatitis A
    http://www.immunize.ca/en/diseases-vaccines/hepatitis-a.aspx
  5. Typhoid fever
    http://www.who.int/ith/diseases/typhoidfever/en/
  6. Travellers' diarrhea
    https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/diseases/diarrhea
  7. Hepatitis B
    http://www.immunize.ca/en/diseases-vaccines/hepatitis-b.aspx

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Les aînés - une clientèle à cultiver!


Les aînés – une clientèle à cultiver!

L'hiver est la période de l'année où les gens se rassemblent le plus souvent dans des espaces confinés, que ce soit lors d'un concert de Noël ou dans un avion. À mesure que nous vieillissons, nous devenons plus vulnérables aux maladies contagieuses et à leurs complications.

En hiver, les foules rendent les Canadiens plus susceptibles d'être exposés directement ou indirectement à des gouttelettes de salive infectées aéroportées par la toux ou des éternuements et d'entrer en contact avec des surfaces contaminées. Deux des maladies qui se répandent ainsi, la grippe et la maladie pneumococcique invasive (MPI), sont causées par la bactérie Streptococcus pneumoniae qui provoque une infection qui dégénère le plus souvent en pneumonie.

Chaque année, la grippe entraîne l'hospitalisation d'environ 12 200 Canadiens, et 3500 ne survivent pas à la maladie. Le risque de contracter la maladie pneumococcique augmente à mesure que nous vieillissons : quelque 40 % des cas de MPI surviennent chez des personnes de plus de 60 ans (1,2). Pour plus d'information, rendez-vous sur notre page de ressources sur la grippe.

La varicelle... vous vous en souvenez?

Environ 90 % des Canadiens ont contracté la varicelle pendant leur enfance. Saviez-vous que le virus varicelle-zona qui l'a causée reste à l'état dormant dans les nerfs rachidiens et peut être réactivé des années plus tard?

Souvent, après 50 ans, une personne sur trois sera touchée par ces cloques douloureuses qui se développent sur une bande ou sur une surface d'un côté du torse ou, moins souvent, sur la figure (3).

Heureusement, nous pouvons réduire les risques de développer ces maladies. Le vaccin contre la grippe saisonnière est recommandé pour tous les Canadiens de plus de 6 mois. Le vaccin antipneumococcique est recommandé pour toute personne de plus de 65 ans. Si vous êtes âgé de plus de 50 ans, vous bénéficierez du vaccin contre le zona qui est recommandé aux personnes de 60 ans et plus (1-3).

Consultez la page de Vaccins411 qui traite des vaccins pour adultes pour en savoir plus sur les vaccins dont vous avez besoin.

Vous voulez voyager en toute sécurité?

Il n'est pas nécessaire de se rendre dans régions lointaines ou de s'éloigner de notre centre de villégiature pour risquer de contracter des maladies graves – certaines sont très fréquentes dans la plupart des pays en développement, y compris dans certaines régions des Caraïbes, en Amérique du Sud, en Amérique centrale, en Afrique et en Asie.

La consommation d'eau ou d'aliments contaminés et les contacts de personne à personne créent des risques de développer l'hépatite A et B, la fièvre typhoïde et la diarrhée du voyageur. Recevoir des services personnels – manucure, pédicure, perçage ou traitement d'acupuncture – peut vous exposer à des fluides corporels transportant l'infection par l'hépatite B. Diverses maladies, y compris l'hépatite A et l'hépatite B, sont transmises par des contacts sexuels avec une personne infectée (4-7).

Consultez la page de Vaccins411 sur les vaccins pour voyageurs pour en savoir plus à ce sujet. Parlez à votre spécialiste des soins de santé 6 à 8 semaines avant votre départ et demandez les vaccins qui vous aideront à vous protéger, en fonction de votre destination et des activités prévues.

Si vous devez vous envoler vers le sud, n’oubliez pas d’apporter un écran solaire et une bombe antimoustiques (avec DEET) pour éloigner les moustiques et les maladies et les virus qu'ils peuvent transmettre, par exemple le paludisme et le zika. Pour plus d'information sur les risques que présentent les piqûres de moustiques, visitez la page des ressources Vaccins411.

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Pour les professionnels de la santé : Grippe (influenza)
    http://canadiensensante.gc.ca/diseases-conditions-maladies-affections/disease-maladie/flu-grippe/professionals-professionnels-fra.php
  2. Pneumococcies invasives
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/vpd-mev/pneumococcal-pneumococcie/professionals-professionnels-fra.php
  3. Herpès zoster (zona)
    http://www.immunize.ca/fr/diseases-vaccines/herpeszoster.aspx
  4. Hépatite A
    https://immunize.ca/fr/maladies-et-vaccins
  5. Typhoid fever
    (en anglais uniquement)
    http://www.who.int/ith/diseases/typhoidfever/en/#
  6. Diarrhée du voyageur
    https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/maladies/diarrhee
  7. Hépatite B
    https://immunize.ca/fr/maladies-et-vaccins