Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Shingles - an affliction to avoid


Travel Safely: Get Immunized

If you are 50 years of age or more, odds are you have heard of shingles or you know someone who has experienced this notoriously painful condition. Not surprising, given that 90% of people over 50 are infected with the chickenpox virus, and are therefore at risk of developing shingles.1

Shingles, known medically as herpes zoster, occurs when the varicella zoster virus that causes childhood chickenpox is reactivated. The lifetime risk of developing shingles is 25% to 30%.2

While people of any age can develop shingles, the likelihood of being affected increases sharply after 50, as our immune defenses weaken and resistance to the dormant (inactive) chickenpox virus wanes. Because risk increases with age, approximately one in two adults 80 years of age or more have had or will have shingles.2,3

As well, older adults are more likely than younger adults to have a more severe case of shingles, and to experience pain that lasts long after the rash has cleared. Pain that persists for 90 days or more after the shingles rash first developed is known as postherpetic neuralgia (PHN). This complication may affect up to 30% of individuals who have shingles, and can persist long after the rash is gone.3

Shingles risk also increases for people whose immune system is weakened for other reasons – such as a medical condition like cancer, or use of immune suppressing medications – even prolonged or significant stress can reduce our immune response.2,4 

Shingles symptoms vary

Shingles causes a painful, blistering rash – typically the blisters scab over in 7 to 10 days and the rash clears within 2 to 4 weeks. When it is mild, having shingles may be simply itchy and inconvenient. At its most severe, it can be painful enough to interfere with daily activities, turning the simplest acts like getting in and out of the car, putting on a shirt or bathing into a challenge.4,5

To learn more about shingles symptoms, complications, and prevention, visit the CDC website.

Get vaccinated!

Vaccination teaches the immune system to help protect the body by exposing it to either pieces of a virus or a weakened form of a virus, so it learns to recognize and defend against that disease in future.6 To understand more about vaccines and how they work, visit Immunize Canada.

Canadians now have two vaccines that help prevent shingles, Shingrix and Zostavax II.7 Being vaccinated not only significantly lowers the risk of developing shingles, it also may help to prevent potential complications such as nerve pain that affect some people who develop shingles.2,3

Vaccination is the best way to help protect against shingles. If you are 50 years of age or older,8 don’t delay – ask your healthcare professional whether you should consider shingles vaccination, and which one is right for you. And make sure your other adult vaccines are up to date. Visit Vaccines411.ca to find the shingles vaccine provider(s) closest to you.

Talk to your healthcare professional today about what immunizations you may need, and visit Vaccines411.ca to find the vaccinating clinic nearest you.

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. National Advisory Committee on Immunization. Statement on the Recommended use of Herpes Zoster Vaccine. January 2010, 36(ASC-1):1-19.
  2. Johnson RW. Herpes zoster epidemiology, management, and disease and economic burden in Europe: a multidisciplinary perspective. Ther Adv Vaccines. 2015 Jul; 3(4): 109–120.
  3. Kawai K, Gebremeskel BG, Acosta CJ. Systematic review of incidence and complications of herpes zoster: towards a global perspective. BMJ Open. 2014 Jun;4(6):e004833.
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4591524/
  4. NIH National Institute on Aging (NIA). Shingles.
    https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/shingles
  5. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Shingles (Herpes Zoster): Overview.
    https://www.cdc.gov/shingles/about/overview.html
  6. Immunize Canada.
    https://immunize.ca/what-immunization
  7. Shapiro M. "Consider getting the shingles vaccine before 65: Doctors' Notes.” The Star. 29/01/2018.
    https://www.thestar.com/life/2018/01/29/consider-getting-the-shingles-vaccine-before-65-doctors-notes.html
  8. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Shingles (Herpes Zoster): Prevention & Treatment.
    https://www.cdc.gov/shingles/about/prevention-treatment.html

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Le zona - un mal terrible à éviter!


Travel Safely: Get Immunized

Si vous êtes âgé de 50 ans ou plus, vous avez certainement entendu parler du zona ou vous connaissez quelqu'un qui a souffert de cette affection aussi douloureuse que débilitante. Cela n'est pas étonnant, étant donné que 90 % des personnes de plus de 50 ans sont porteuses du virus de la varicelle et sont par conséquent à risque de développer le zona1.

Le zona, dont le nom médical est herpès zoster, se manifeste lorsque le virus qui cause la varicelle chez les enfants est réactivé. Le risque de développer le zona au cours de la vie est de 25 % à 30 %2.

Même s'il est possible de développer le zona à tout âge, la probabilité augmente nettement à partir de 50 ans, à mesure que faiblissent les défenses immunitaires et que baisse la résistance au virus dormant (inactif) de la varicelle. Comme le risque augmente avec l'âge, près de la moitié des adultes de 80 ans ou plus ont souffert ou souffriront du zona2,3.

De plus, les aînés sont plus susceptibles que les jeunes adultes d'être victimes d'une grave crise de zona et de souffrir de douleurs qui durent longtemps après la disparition de l'éruption cutanée. Une douleur qui se prolonge pendant 90 jours ou plus après l'apparition des premiers symptômes de zona est appelée névralgie postzostérienne (NPZ). Cette complication peut toucher jusqu'à 30 % des personnes qui souffrent de zona et peut persister longtemps après la fin de l'éruption3.

Le risque de zona augmente aussi chez les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli par d'autres affections – troubles médicaux comme le cancer, ou prise de médicaments immunosuppresseurs. Il semble que même le stress prolongé ou important peut réduire la réponse immunitaire2,4.

Les symptômes du zona sont variés

Le zona cause une éruption vésiculeuse fort douloureuse. Habituellement, les vésicules forment une croûte 7 à 10 jours après leur apparition, et l'éruption disparaît en 2 à 4 semaines. Lorsque le zona est bénin, il peut simplement provoquer une démangeaison et incommoder légèrement. Mais s'il s'agit d'un cas grave, il peut être assez douloureux pour interférer avec les activités quotidiennes, transformer en défi les gestes les plus simples comme monter dans une voiture et en descendre, enfiler une chemise ou prendre un bain4,5.

Pour en savoir plus sur le zona, ses symptômes, ses complications et la prévention, visitez le site des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (en anglais).

Faites-vous vacciner!

Les vaccins apprennent au système immunitaire d'aider à protéger le corps en l'exposant à un morceau  ou à une forme affaiblie d'un virus. Le corps apprend ainsi à reconnaître la maladie et à se défendre contre elle6. Pour en savoir plus sur les vaccins et sur leur fonctionnement, visitez le site Immunisation Canada.

Les Canadiens disposent aujourd'hui de deux vaccins pour aider à prévenir le zona : Shingrix et Zostavax II7. Non seulement le fait d'être vacciné abaisse-t-il considérablement le risque de développer le zona, il peut aussi aider à prévenir les complications potentielles comme la douleur névralgique qui afflige certaines personnes qui développent le zona2,3.

La vaccination est le meilleur moyen de se protéger contre le zona. Si vous êtes âgé de 50 ans ou plus8, n'attendez pas – demandez dès maintenant à votre fournisseur de soins de santé si vous devriez envisager de vous faire vacciner contre le zona et quel est le meilleur vaccin pour vous. Assurez-vous également que vos autres vaccins sont à jour. Rendez-vous sur Vaccins411.ca. pour savoir où se trouve le fournisseur de vaccins contre le zona le plus proche de chez vous.

Parlez à votre professionnel de la santé aujourd’hui des vaccins dont vous pouvez avoir besoin, et rendez-vous sur le site Vaccins411.ca pour trouver l'adresse de la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de chez vous.

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI). Déclaration sur l'utilisation recommandée du vaccin contre le virus de l'herpès zoster. Janvier 2010, 36, DCC, 1-19.
  2. Kawai K, Gebremeskel BG, Acosta CJ. Systematic review of incidence and complications of herpes zoster: towards a global perspective. BMJ Open. 2014 Jun;4(6):e004833 (en anglais).
  3. Johnson RW. Herpes zoster epidemiology, management, and disease and economic burden in Europe: a multidisciplinary perspective. Ther Adv Vaccines. 2015 Jul; 3(4): 109–120.
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4591524/ (en anglais)
  4. NIH National Institute on Aging (NIA). Shingles.
    https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/shingles (en anglais)
  5. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Shingles (Herpes Zoster): Overview.
    https://www.cdc.gov/shingles/about/overview.html (en anglais)
  6. Immunisation Canada.
    https://immunize.ca/fr/quest-ce-que-la-vaccination
  7. The Star. Consider getting the shingles vaccine before 65: Doctor’s Notes.
    https://www.thestar.com/life/2018/01/29/consider-getting-the-shingles-vaccine-before-65-doctors-notes.html (en anglais)
  8. Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies (organisation américaine). Shingles (Herpes Zoster): Prevention & Treatment.
    https://www.cdc.gov/shingles/about/prevention-treatment.html