Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Vaccination for women – providing protection as you move through life


Travel Safely: Get Immunized

For the young at heart

Life is full of surprises – When it comes to your love life, awareness and immunizations can help ensure that they’re all positive.

Why not get checked? It only takes sex with one person who is infected with an STI to be at risk. The same is true for everyone. That’s how things “go viral” – one person at a time. Making the smart decision to get tested for STIs does not suggest you have had many sexual partners.1

You can help stop the spread by knowing your own STI status, and by practicing safe sex every time. 2

Considering starting a family?

Give your baby the gift of immune protection.

As a pregnant woman, the immunity you have developed thanks to vaccinations and your previous exposure to some contagious illnesses is passed on to your baby. And this protection often lasts beyond pregnancy and into your baby’s first six to 12 months of life.3

Health Canada advises that all pregnant women, at any stage of pregnancy, should be vaccinated against the flu with the inactivated influenza vaccine during each pregnancy.

All pregnant women should also receive the combined tetanus toxoid, diphtheria toxoid, acellular pertussis (Tdap) vaccine during every pregnancy, regardless of whether they have had the immunization before.

Your immunization transfers high levels of antibodies to your infant to help protect him or her from pertussis infection during the first two months of life, when infection can be most serious.4

In your 30s or 40s?

Whether you are raising a family and/or heading out to work every day, be aware that some of the old infectious diseases – like measles, for instance – are coming back with a vengeance.

Do your part to keep our herd immunity strong! If you have not been vaccinated against common infectious illnesses, ask your healthcare provider what you may need. For instance, the three-in-one measles, MMR immunization will help protect you against measles, mumps and rubella (German measles), which are highly contagious.6

Keep your 50’s fun

If you were affected by chickenpox as a child, you should know that the varicella-zoster virus (VZV) that causes it can remain dormant in your system for many years. In some individuals, especially as we move past 50 years of age, the virus can be reactivated and result in herpes zoster (shingles). Vaccination can help you avoid this painful blistering rash, as well post-herpetic neuralgia (PHN), a chronic and debilitating condition that follows shingles in some individuals.7

Age 65 and over?

Influenza (the flu) also poses increasing risks as we age – while everyone over 6 months of age should get a flu shot yearly, 6 people over age 65 can choose a new enhanced influenza vaccine for extra protection.8

Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumococcus) is a common bacteria, easily spread between people in close contact. Pneumococcal infection can cause several illnesses including bacterial pneumonia and middle ear infections. It can be serious or even fatal, especially in the elderly and the very young. Vaccination is recommended for all age groups.9

Planning to travel?

Whatever your age, immune protection is important for you and the people around you. Consult your health care provider – ideally 4 to 6 weeks in advance - to find out about any required vaccines at your planned destination or vaccines you should consider.

Talk to your healthcare professional today about what immunizations you may need, and visit Vaccines411.ca to find the vaccinating clinic nearest you.

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Canadians For Choice website.
    http://www.sexualhealthandrights.ca/
  2. What are the chances of getting an STI-STD? | STIs-STDs | SexualityandU website.
    http://www.sexualityandu.ca/stis-stds/what-are-the-chances-of-getting-an-sti-std
  3. Immunization before and during pregnancy.
    http://pregnancy.sogc.org/health-before-and-during-pregnancy/immunization/
  4. Immunization in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p03-04-eng.php
  5. Update on pregnancy immunization
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/reports-publications/canada-communicable-disease-report-ccdr/monthly-issue/2018-44/issue-3-4-march-1-2018/article-5-update-immunization-pregnancy-vaccine-2018.html
  6. Recommended Immunizations for Adults.
    https://immunize.ca/recommended-immunizations-adults
  7. National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Update on varicella. Can Commun Dis Rep 2004, 30: 1-26.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/ccdr-rmtc/04vol30/acs-dcc-1/index-eng.php
  8. NACI Summary Influenza 2018–2019.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/executive-summary-literature-review-update-efficacy-effectiveness-fluzone-high-dose-fluad-trivalent-inactivated-influenza-vaccines-adults-65-older.html
  9. Health Canada. Invasive pneumococcal disease. 2016.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/immunization/vaccine-preventable-diseases/invasive-pneumococcal-disease/health-professionals.html

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Vaccination pour les femmes, pour une protection la vie durant


Travel Safely: Get Immunized

Pour les jeunes de cœur

La vie nous réserve plein de surprises. En amour, sensibilisation et vaccination peuvent nous en épargner de mauvaises!

Pourquoi ne pas passer un test de dépistage? Il suffit d'une relation sexuelle avec une personne ayant une IST pour être à risque. Personne n’y échappe. C’est ainsi que les choses « deviennent virales » : une personne à la fois. Prendre la décision intelligente de subir un test de dépistage d’IST ne signifie pas que vous avez eu beaucoup de partenaires sexuels1.

Vous pouvez contribuer à enrayer la propagation des IST en connaissant votre propre statut et en optant systématiquement pour des pratiques sexuelles sans risque2.

Vous envisagez de fonder une famille?

Donnez à votre bébé le cadeau de la protection immunitaire.

En tant que femme enceinte, l’immunité que vous avez acquise grâce aux vaccins et à votre exposition antérieure à certaines maladies contagieuses sera transmise à votre bébé. Et cette protection dure souvent au-delà de la grossesse : votre bébé en profite pendant les 6 à 12 premiers mois de sa vie3.

Santé Canada recommande le vaccin antigrippal inactivé lors de chaque grossesse, peu importe le stade.

Toutes les femmes enceintes devraient également recevoir le vaccin acellulaire contre la coqueluche combiné aux vaccins contre la diphtérie et le tétanos (dcaT), qu’elles aient déjà été vaccinées ou non. Lorsque la mère se fait vacciner, son nourrisson bénéficie de taux élevés d'anticorps et se trouve ainsi protégé contre la coqueluche au cours des 2 premiers mois de sa vie, période où l'infection peut être extrêmement grave4.

Dans la trentaine ou la quarantaine?

Si vous élevez une famille ou vous rendez au travail tous les jours, sachez que certaines maladies infectieuses anciennes, comme la rougeole, reviennent en force.

Contribuez à renforcer l'immunité collective! Si vous n’avez pas reçu de vaccin contre les maladies infectieuses courantes, demandez à votre professionnel de la santé de quels vaccins vous pourriez avoir besoin, par exemple le RRO contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole, trois maladies très contagieuses6.

Profitez de votre cinquantaine!

Si vous avez contracté la varicelle pendant votre enfance, sachez que le virus varicelle-zona (VVZ) – qui en est la cause – reste dormant dans votre organisme pendant de nombreuses années. Chez certaines personnes, en particulier celles de 50 ans ou plus, le virus peut être réactivé et provoquer un zona. La vaccination peut vous aider à éviter cette éruption vésiculeuse douloureuse et les douleurs post-zostériennes chroniques et débilitantes qui font parfois suite au zona7.

65 ans ou plus?

L’influenza (la grippe) constitue un risque croissant avec l’âge. Toute personne de plus de 6 mois devrait se faire vacciner chaque année6 , mais les personnes de plus de 65 ans peuvent choisir un nouveau vaccin antigrippal renforcé pour bénéficier d’une protection accrue8.

Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumocoque) est une bactérie répandue qui se transmet facilement entre personnes ayant des contacts étroits. L'infection à pneumocoque peut causer plusieurs maladies, notamment une pneumonie bactérienne et une infection de l'oreille moyenne. Ces infections peuvent être graves, voire mortelles, surtout chez les personnes âgées et les très jeunes. La vaccination est recommandée dans tous les groupes d'âge9.

Vous songez à voyager?

Quel que soit votre âge, la protection immunitaire est importante pour vous et votre entourage. Consultez votre professionnel de la santé - idéalement de 4 à 6 semaines avant la date du départ - pour savoir quels vaccins sont obligatoires ou recommandés pour la destination envisagée.

Parlez à votre professionnel de la santé aujourd’hui des vaccins dont vous pouvez avoir besoin, et rendez-vous sur le site Vaccins411.ca pour trouver l'adresse de la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de chez vous.

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Canadians For Choice website.
    http://www.sexualhealthandrights.ca/
  2. What are the chances of getting an STI-STD? | STIs-STDs | SexualityandU website.
    http://www.sexualityandu.ca/stis-stds/what-are-the-chances-of-getting-an-sti-std
  3. Immunization before and during pregnancy.
    http://pregnancy.sogc.org/health-before-and-during-pregnancy/immunization/
  4. Immunization in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p03-04-eng.php
  5. Update on pregnancy immunization
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/reports-publications/canada-communicable-disease-report-ccdr/monthly-issue/2018-44/issue-3-4-march-1-2018/article-5-update-immunization-pregnancy-vaccine-2018.html
  6. Recommended Immunizations for Adults.
    https://immunize.ca/recommended-immunizations-adults
  7. National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Update on varicella. Can Commun Dis Rep 2004, 30: 1-26.
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/ccdr-rmtc/04vol30/acs-dcc-1/index-eng.php
  8. NACI Summary Influenza 2018–2019.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/executive-summary-literature-review-update-efficacy-effectiveness-fluzone-high-dose-fluad-trivalent-inactivated-influenza-vaccines-adults-65-older.html
  9. Health Canada. Invasive pneumococcal disease. 2016.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/immunization/vaccine-preventable-diseases/invasive-pneumococcal-disease/health-professionals.html