Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Vaccines: the science of prevention


Vaccines: the science of prevention

Vaccines play a key role early on in our lives. As children, our parents cuddled us reassuringly as we received a quick injection at the pediatrician’s, desperate to distract us from impending pain. There may have also been promises of ice cream in exchange for avoiding the inevitable tantrum that would far surpass the time spent in the doctor’s care. All jokes aside, though, in our first months and years of life, vaccines contributed to ensuring our likelihood of infant survival.

Back to the beginning: understanding vaccines

Vaccines help our immune systems block potential attacks from diseases. This is where the science works its magic: tucked deep inside the folds of these vials lay traces of the disease itself, treated so it cannot be transmitted. Doing this equips the body to now recognize the intruder; with that one vaccine, it develops a powerful toolkit to build its own immunity against possible future invasions. The result? An estimated three million deaths across the world are prevented through vaccinations every year1.

The immunization landscape in Canada

Administering vaccines contributes to the protection against diseases that were once considered serious, avoiding severe pain, discomfort, long-term disability, even death. Infectious diseases should be a thing of the past for Canadians: what used to be the leading causes of death in the world is now only five percent of all deaths in the country2. Immunization has even contributed to saving more lives in the last 50 years than any other health improvement in human history. The other side of the coin is that Canada has also seen an upswing in vaccine-preventable infectious disease cases, and not by a negligible amount either – up 30% between 2004 and 20153.

Vaccine safety in Canada

One of Canada’s greatest prides is its public health system. Providing accessible health care to its citizens has significantly contributed to the prevention of infectious diseases across the country. To make sure you’re up to date with your vaccines, it’s important to consult your medical doctor, nurse or health practitioner.

Vaccinations in Canada are safe and effective: before they’re even cleared by Health Canada, they require rigorous testing and proof of effectiveness. Getting a vaccine to market – from research, to development, to pre-clinical testing, to clinical testing, and finally to regulatory approval – can last almost a decade, depending on the virus or bacteria. As soon as new vaccines are made available to the public, they are persistently monitored for quality control. While its effectiveness can’t be 100% guaranteed, the risk of things going awry in patients is incredibly rare – so rare that it’s challenging to even track the occurrence of unwanted events4. Most recipients can expect lifelong (or at least long-term) immunization for the price of only a few seconds of discomfort, and maybe short-term soreness at the injection site… A worthy trade-off at every age and stage of life!

Looking to the future

Talk your doctor today about what immunizations you may need and visit Vaccines411.ca to find the nearest vaccinating flu clinic. Practice “herd immunity” by becoming an immunization ambassador for your family and friends. Encourage them to stay updated on their vaccinations and hold them accountable5. With global life expectancy numbers raising globally, vaccinations are undeniable factors for longevity; there is so much more to lose by ignoring its potential to protect us.

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. World Health Organization (WHO). Immunization. 2019.
    https://www.who.int/news-room/facts-in-pictures/detail/immunization
  2. Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA). Vaccination. 2020.
    https://www.cpha.ca/vaccination
  3. Global News. Who’s really to blame for Canada’s falling vaccination rates? It’s not just anti-vaxxers, report says. 2017.
    https://globalnews.ca/news/3409038/whos-really-to-blame-for-canadas-falling-vaccination-rates-its-not-only-anti-vaxxers-report-says/
  4. World Health Organization. Six common misconceptions about immunization. 2020.
    https://www.who.int/vaccine_safety/initiative/detection/immunization_misconceptions/en/index4.html
  5. Montréal en Santé. Herd Immunity: Be Part of the Solution. 2020.
    http://www.montrealensante.com/en/vol-12n1-herd-immunity-be-part-of-the-solution

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Vaccins : la science de la prévention


Vaccins : la science de la prévention

Les vaccins jouent un rôle central dans nos vies. Quand nous étions enfants, nos parents tentaient désespérément de nous distraire et de nous retenir le bras pendant que le pédiatre nous donnait une injection en deux temps trois mouvements. Ils tentaient aussi de nous « soudoyer » en nous promettant de la crème glacée pour éviter la crise inévitable qui déborderait largement les quelques secondes de douleur dans le cabinet du médecin. Trêve de plaisanterie, les vaccins ont grandement contribué à notre probabilité de survie au cours de nos premiers mois et premières années de vie.

Retour à la case départ : comprendre les vaccins

Les vaccins aident le système immunitaire à résister à l’assaut potentiel de diverses maladies. C’est là où la science fait des miracles : dans les petites fioles du vaccin se trouvent des traces du microbe à l’origine de la maladie que l’on aura traité pour qu’il ne puisse pas la transmettre. L’idée, c’est d’aider l’organisme à reconnaître l’envahisseur. Le contact avec le vaccin permet à l’organisme de fabriquer de puissants outils pour bâtir son immunité et ainsi de se protéger contre les invasions futures. Résultat? On estime que les vaccins permettent annuellement d’éviter quelque trois millions de décès à l’échelle de la planète1.

La situation au Canada

L’administration d’un vaccin contribue à protéger la population contre des maladies considérées comme graves et ainsi à éviter d’intenses douleurs, des inconforts, une incapacité à long terme, voire la mort. Les maladies infectieuses devraient être choses du passé pour les Canadiens : il n’y a pas si longtemps, les maladies infectieuses qui figuraient parmi les principales causes de décès dans le monde; elles ne sont responsables aujourd’hui que de 5 % de l’ensemble des décès à l’échelle du pays2. Au cours des 50 dernières années, la vaccination a aidé à sauver plus de vies que toute autre amélioration sanitaire dans l’histoire de l’humanité. L’autre côté de la médaille est que le Canada a également vu une croissance du nombre de maladies infectieuses, et pas d’une quantité négligeable – une hausse de 30% entre 2004 et 201533.

L’innocuité des vaccins au Canada

Le Canada tire une grande fierté de son système de santé public. L’accessibilité aux soins de santé a largement contribué à la prévention des maladies infectieuses d’un océan à l’autre. Pour vous assurer d’être à jour dans vos vaccins, il est important que vous consultiez votre médecin, une infirmière ou un autre professionnel de la santé.

Les vaccins commercialisés au Canada sont sûrs et efficaces : ils doivent être testés rigoureusement et leur efficacité doit être démontrée avant que Santé Canada en approuve la vente. Le processus –la recherches, le développement, les essais précliniques et cliniques et finalement l'homologation du vaccin par les autorités réglementaires - peut s’étirer sur une dizaine d’années, selon le virus ou la bactérie en cause. Après qu’un nouveau vaccin est commercialisé et qu’il devient accessible au public, il continue d’être surveillé étroitement. Le risque que les choses tournent mal est incroyablement faible, tellement faible en fait qu’il est même difficile d’évaluer le taux de réactions indésirables graves4. La plupart des vaccinés peuvent s’attendre à une immunisation à vie (ou à tout le moins de longue durée) pour le prix d’un inconfort de quelques secondes ou de douleurs de courte durée au point d’injection… c’est un bon compromis!

Les yeux tournés vers l’avenir

La meilleure façon de se protéger, c’est d’être bien informé! Et pourquoi ne pas contribuer à l’immunité collective en devenant un ambassadeur de la vaccination auprès de vos proches et de vos amis. Encouragez-les à rester à jour dans leurs vaccins et rendez-les responsables5. Les vaccins contribuent à la longévité, et leur utilité est non négociable; en fait, nous avons beaucoup plus à perdre en fermant les yeux sur toutes les possibilités de protection qu’ils nous offrent.

Cet article vous est offert par Vaccins411.ca – Sachez où aller pour vous faire vacciner !

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS). I0 faits sur la vaccination. 2019.
    https://www.who.int/fr/news-room/facts-in-pictures/detail/immunization
  2. Association canadienne de santé publique (ACSP). Vaccination. 2020.
     https://www.cpha.ca/fr/vaccination
  3. Global News. Who’s really to blame for Canada’s falling vaccination rates? It’s not just anti-vaxxers, report says. 2017.
    https://globalnews.ca/news/3409038/whos-really-to-blame-for-canadas-falling-vaccination-rates-its-not-only-anti-vaxxers-report-says/
  4. World Health Organization. Six common misconceptions about immunization. 2020.
    https://www.who.int/vaccine_safety/initiative/detection/immunization_misconceptions/en/index4.html
  5. Montréal en santé. Immunité collective : participez à la solution. 2020.
    http://www.montrealensante.com/fr/vol-12n1-herd-immunity-be-part-of-the-solution