Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Ah, springtime!


The sun is beginning to warm the earth, trees are budding, and the season of new arrivals begins. Parents who are welcoming a baby into the household, or ushering children outside to play after a long winter may want to take a moment to think about immunization.

The natural immune protection that babies derive from their mother’s antibodies lasts only for the first year of life. 1a Vaccines contain tiny amounts of viruses or bacteria that trigger a child's immune system to produce antibodies of their own to attack the virus or bacteria and help prevent the disease. 1b Find out what’s recommended for infants and children, and know where to go for the vaccinations your family needs.

In Canada, routine vaccinations are offered free of charge to children in all provinces and territories against the following preventable diseases. The hepatitis B vaccine is given alone, while the other vaccines are generally combined as listed here so they can be provided in fewer injections. Vaccinations are given according to specific schedules that usually start when your baby is two months old.

  • Diphtheria, tetanus (lockjaw), pertussis (whooping cough), polio, Haemophilus influenza type b disease
  • rubella (German measles), measles (red measles), mumps
  • hepatitis B 1c

Additional vaccines that protect against varicella (chickenpox), influenza, and some forms of meningitis may be recommended for some children. These are not given routinely across Canada; discuss your child’s needs with your health care provider. 1d Ask your vaccine provider for a written record so you can keep track of your child’s vaccinations. Help your children get a great start in life by making sure they receive the right shots at the right time, and keeping their records as well as their immunizations up to date.

Stay safer outdoors

When children are young and eager for adventure, parents may be torn between keeping them safe and letting them explore the great outdoors. Vaccination can help protect youngsters against two potential, and thankfully rare, backyard hazards: Consider the time-honoured childhood tradition of making mud pies, and the attraction many children have toward animals of all stripes. Soil contains a potent neurotoxin, Clostridium tetani, which can cause tetanus, 2a and animals can carry rabies.

Tetanus is an acute and often fatal disease generally caused by contamination of wounds with soil or animal/human feces, 2a and is relatively rare these days. Since the introduction of routine immunization to protect against tetanus in Canada in 1940, deaths due to tetanus infection have declined from 40-50 per year to an average of 4 per year in recent decades. 2b It is recommended that all Canadians receive initial immunization for tetanus during childhood followed by routine booster doses every 10 years. 2c Adverse reactions to tetanus vaccination are rare, especially in children, so why not start right now, in time for mud pie season?

Rabies is a serious potentially fatal disease, 3a and of particular concern in young children (especially boys), who are at an estimated four times greater risk than adults. 3b This is in part because children may not understand either the need to avoid animals or the importance of reporting potential exposure due to a bite or contact with saliva or infected tissue from an infected animal. 3c Animals in Canada most often proven rabid include skunks, foxes, raccoons, bats, cattle, and stray dogs and cats. 3d In addition to immunization, animal-loving children should be taught to avoid (and report) contact with wild or unknown animals.

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. It's Your Health - Childhood Immunization 
    http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/med/immuniz-eng.php
  2. Tetanus Toxoid - Canadian Immunization Guide - Seventh Edition - 2006 - Public Health Agency of Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p04-tet-eng.php
  3. Questions and Answers on Rabies - Immunization & Vaccines - Public Health Agency Canada
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/im/rabies-faq-eng.php

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Ah, le printemps!


Le soleil réchauffe la terre, les arbres bourgeonnent et la saison du renouveau nous revient. Les parents qui accueilleront un nouveau-né à la maison ou qui enverront les enfants jouer dehors après l’hiver devraient prendre un moment pour penser à la vaccination.

La protection immunitaire des anticorps transmis au nouveau-né par la mère ne dure que pendant la première année de la vie1a. Les vaccins contiennent de minimes quantités d’un virus ou d’une bactérie qui déclenchent le système immunitaire de l’enfant afin qu’il produise ses propres anticorps qui attaqueront le virus ou la bactérie et aideront ainsi à prévenir la maladie1b. Informez-vous sur les recommandations pour les nourrissons et les enfants et découvrez où se diriger pour les besoins en vaccination de votre famille.

Au Canada, la vaccination systématique contre les maladies graves évitables est offerte gratuitement aux enfants dans toutes les provinces. Le vaccin contre l’hépatite B est administré séparément tandis que d’autres vaccins sont généralement combinés, comme indiqué plus bas, dans le but de réduire le nombre d’injections. Les vaccins sont donnés selon des calendriers précis qui débutent normalement lorsqu’un nourrisson atteint l’âge de 2 mois.

  • Diphtérie, tétanos, coqueluche, poliomyélite (polio), Haemophilus influenzae de type b (Hib)
  • Rougeole, rubéole, oreillons (RRO)
  • Hépatite B1c

Des vaccins supplémentaires contre la varicelle, l’influenza et quelques formes de la méningite sont recommandés chez certains enfants. Ces derniers ne sont pas donnés de façon automatique au Canada; discutez des besoins de vos enfants avec un professionnel de la santé1d. Demandez au responsable de la clinique de vaccination de vous fournir une attestation de vaccination pour suivre les vaccinations de vos enfants. Aidez vos enfants à prendre un bon départ dans la vie en vous assurant qu’ils reçoivent les bonnes doses aux bons moments, et en conservant leurs dossiers de vaccination et leurs vaccins à jour.

Jouer dehors en toute sécurité

Lorsque les enfants sont jeunes et avides d’aventures, les parents peuvent être indécis entre les garder en sécurité ou les laisser explorer la nature. La vaccination peut protéger les enfants contre deux dangers potentiels, heureusement rares, de la cour arrière. Pensez aux traditionnels pâtés de boue de l’enfance et à la fascination que les enfants ont envers les animaux de toutes sortes. La terre contient une puissante neurotoxine, le Clostridium tetani, qui peut causer le tétanos2a et les animaux peuvent transmettre la rage.

Le tétanos est une maladie aiguë, souvent mortelle, qui se développe le plus souvent dans les plaies qui sont contaminées par la terre ou des excréments d’animaux ou d’humains, et est relativement rare de nos jours. Depuis l'introduction au Canada en 1940 de la vaccination régulière pour la protection contre le tétanos, la mortalité associée au tétanos a diminué de 40-50 par année jusqu’à une moyenne de 4 par année dans les dernières décennies.2b Il est recommandé au Canada que tous reçoivent l’immunisation initiale pendant l’enfance suivie de doses de rappel à chaque 10 ans2c. Les effets secondaires associés au vaccin contre le tétanos sont rares, particulièrement chez les enfants, alors pourquoi ne pas commencer dès maintenant, juste à temps pour les pâtés de boue!

La rage est une maladie potentiellement mortelle3a et particulièrement inquiétante chez les jeunes enfants, surtout les garçons, et le risque est quatre fois plus élevé que chez les adultes3b. Cela s’explique par le fait que les enfants ne sont pas toujours conscients du danger potentiel des animaux et ne comprennent pas l’importance de signaler à leurs parents une petite morsure ou un contact avec la salive ou la plaie infectée d’un animal3c. Au Canada, la rage est habituellement transmise aux humains par les mouffettes, les renards, les ratons laveurs, les chauves-souris, le bétail, et les chiens et chats errants3d. En plus de la vaccination, il faut éduquer les enfants qui adorent les animaux (sauvages ou inconnus) à éviter et rapporter leur contact.

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Vie Saine - La vaccination des enfants 
    http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/med/immuniz-fra.php
  2. Anatoxine tétanique - Guide canadien d’immunisation - Septième édition - 2006 - Agence de la santé publique du Canada 
    http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p04-tet-fra.php
  3. Questions et réponses sur la rage - Immunisation et vaccins - Agence de la santé publique du Canada 
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/agence-revenu/services/impot/particuliers/sujets/tout-votre-declaration-revenus/declaration-revenus/remplir-declaration-revenus/feuillets-renseignements.html