Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Demystifying HPV vaccination


Why get immunized against human papilloma virus (HPV)? Because HPV is relatively common, typically causes no symptoms, and is responsible for almost 3 in 4 cases of cancer of the cervix.

There are many types of HPV. Some are transmitted through sexual contact without intercourse, including oral sex and sexual touching. Infection typically occurs within the first five years of any type of sexual activity. Up to one in four Canadians younger than 25 is infected with HPV, although many don’t realize it due to the absence of symptoms. 1a

HPV vaccine is licensed in Canada for women, nine to 45 years of age, and for men nine to 26. Each of the two licensed vaccines available in Canada, Cervarix® and Gardasil®, 2b helps protect against specific types of sexually transmitted HPV. 2a

Keep Preschoolers Healthy: Realities of Rotavirus

Rotavirus is the most common cause of serious diarrhea in babies and young children. The virus can survive on environmental surfaces for days and spreads easily in childcare settings. 2c It commonly occurs in children between six months and two years of age; this age group accounts for more than half of rotavirus hospitalizations. 3a Most children will have had rotavirus by five years of age. 3b

Rotavirus vaccination is advised by both the Canadian Pediatric Society and National Advisory Committee on Immunization. 2d Rotavirus vaccine is given orally. Babies must receive the first dose before 15 weeks of age. At least four weeks should pass between doses, and the final dose should be given by eight months (32 weeks) of age. 2e

For Kids & Moms

Measles, mumps, and rubella are easily-transmitted preventable illnesses that may be associated with serious complications in some children. 4a When contracted during pregnancy, these diseases have been associated with miscarriage or birth defects (in the case of rubella). 4b,c,d

In Canada and the US, introduction of the measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccine lead to near-eradication of these diseases. However, outbreaks have occurred, most recently in Québec in 2011. Break the cycle. Have your child immunized with one dose at 12 months of age, and a second at 18 months of age or before the child starts school. This helps provide lifelong protection. 5c

Prevention is always the best solution!

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. HPV vaccine (Human papillomavirus): What teens need to know.
    http://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/immunization/HPVVaccine.htm
  2. Vancouver Coastal Health. Physicians’ Update, November 23, 2011.
    http://www.vch.ca/for-health-professionals/resources-updates/physicians-update
  3. Salvadori M et al for the CPS. Recommendations for the use of rotavirus vaccines in infants.
    http://www.cps.ca/english/statements/id/id10-01.htm
  4. Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care - Public Information - Publications - Immunization - Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) Vaccine
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/english/public/pub/immun/mmr.html
  5. Epidemiological portrait of the measles outbreak - Measles – MSSS. March 23, 2012
    https://www.cdc.gov/measles/cases-outbreaks.html

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Démystification du vaccin VPH


Pour quelle raison se faire immuniser contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH)? Simplement parce que le VPH est relativement commun. Essentiellement, il ne produit aucun symptôme et il est responsable d’environ 3 cas de cancer de l’utérus sur 4.

Il existe différents types de VPH. Certains virus sont transmis par les contacts sexuels sans relation complète, incluant le sexe oral et les attouchements. Généralement, les personnes le contractent pendant les 5 années qui suivent le début des activités sexuelles. Plus de 1 personne sur 4, de moins de 25 ans au Canada, est infecté par le VPH, bien que plusieurs ne le réalisent pas puisqu’aucun symptôme n’est manifesté1.

Le vaccin contre le VPH est autorisé au Canada pour les femmes de 9 à 45 ans et pour les hommes de 9 à 26 ans. Les deux vaccins disponibles au Canada, Cervarix® et Gardasil®, aident à protéger contre des types spécifiques de VPH transmis sexuellement2.

Préservons la santé de nos enfants d’âge préscolaire: les faits sur le rotavirus

Le rotavirus est la principale cause de grave diarrhée chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants. Ce virus peut survivre dans notre environnement pendant plusieurs jours; il peut donc se répandre facilement dans les garderies2. Il touche généralement les enfants de 6 mois à 2 ans et ce groupe représente plus de la moitié des cas nécessitant une hospitalisation3. Presque tous les enfants auront, au moins, un épisode de diarrhée à rotavirus avant l’âge de 5 ans3.

La vaccination antirotavirus est recommandée par la Société canadienne de pédiatrie et le Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation. Ce vaccin est administré oralement2d. Les nourrissons doivent recevoir la première dose à l’âge de 15 semaines. Un délai de 4 semaines doit être respecté entre les doses et la dose finale doit être administrée à l’âge 8 mois (32 semaines)2.

Pour les enfants et les mamans

La rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole, maladies associées à de sérieuses complications chez certains enfants, peuvent être facilement évités4. Lorsqu’elles sont contractées pendant la grossesse, ces infections sont associées à des fausses couches ou à des anomalies congénitales (dans le cas de la rubéole)4.

Au Canada et aux États-Unis, l’introduction du vaccin combiné contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole (ROR) a mené à la quasi-élimination de ces maladies. Cependant, plusieurs cas ont été déclarés tout récemment au Québec en 2011. Brisez la propagation! Pour fournir une protection de toute une vie à vos enfants, faites-les vacciner deux fois en bas âge, à 12 et 18 mois, ou tout au moins avant qu’ils ne commencent l’école.

La prévention est toujours la meilleure solution!

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Le vaccin contre le VPH : Ce que les ados doivent savoir.
    http://www.soinsdenosenfants.cps.ca/handouts/hpv_vaccine_teens
  2. Vancouver Coastal Health. Physicians’ Update, November 23, 2011. (en anglais seulement)
    http://www.vch.ca/for-health-professionals/resources-updates/physicians-update
  3. Salvadori M et al pour la SCP. Des recommandations quant à l’usage des vaccins antirotavirus chez les nourrissons. 
    http://www.cps.ca/francais/enonces/ID/ID10-01.htm
  4. Ministère de la santé et des soins de longue durée, Ontario – Information pour le public - Publications - L'immunisation : Vaccin ROR antirougeoleux, antiourlien et antirubéoleux
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/french/publicf/pubf/immunf/mmrf.html
  5. Portrait épidémiologique de l'éclosion de rougeole. MSSS. 23 mars, 2012
    http://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/sujets/prob_sante/rougeole/portrait2011.php