Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Immunization: A little pain for great gains


Immunization protects individuals and communities by preventing the spread of disease. As more people are immunized the disease risk for everyone is reduced. Immunization has probably saved more lives in Canada in the last 50 years than any other health intervention. - Immunize Canada

Although they used to represent a significant threat, today, infectious diseases cause less than 5% of all deaths in Canada – and that is thanks to all the people who take advantage of the immunization programs across the country.

If you are nervous about taking your baby for her/his first vaccinations, take a deep breath and relax. Children, even infants, can sense your anxiety and become anxious too. There’s a lot you can do to help make sure the experience is as painless as possible. It may also help to remember why immunizing your children is so important, especially when they’re very young. Although breastfeeding helps pass along your immunity to your baby, an infant’s system is just not prepared to defend against some common and potentially serious illnesses.

Is it time for a booster shot?

At about 6 years of age, children may be due for a booster shot – an immunization that helps maintain the immune defenses that your child’s body has developed from shots she/he received in previous years. Immunize Canada* offers a colouring book for children that provides easy to understand explanations that will help prepare them for their immunizations.

If you aren’t sure where to go, visit www.vaccines411.ca to find the clinic nearest you. A few days before the appointment, prepare your child by telling her/him what to expect. It’s important to be honest rather than telling your child it will not hurt. Explain that: A vaccination is given with a needle in the arm. It may feel like a pinch or pressure for a few seconds. We will do different things to keep it from bothering you too much. You can help by choosing a toy to help you feel more comfortable.

Easing your children through their shots – what Mothers can do

Before the injection:

Numb the skin with a topical anaesthetic (available without a prescription at most pharmacies). Follow product instructions; it takes 30 to 60 minutes for numbing to take effect. For children over one year of age, apply to the upper arm; for infants less than one year, apply the cream to the upper outer part of the leg. Treat both arms (or legs) if several injections will be given.

Before and after the injection:

  • Give your baby sugar water. You can also breastfeed or bottle feed, or offer a pacifier throughout the process.
  • Hold your child in a firm but gentle hug with the injection site exposed.
  • Rub or stroke your child’s skin near the vaccination site.
  • Soothe your baby by rocking, singing, or talking to her, or distract her/his attention away from the injection site with objects like toys or rattles.

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Education matters: Immunize.ca. 
    http://immunize.ca/
  2. FAQs - Vaccination - Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux.
    http://sante.gouv.qc.ca/en/conseils-et-prevention/vaccination/
  3. The 3 P’s of Helping your Child during Vaccinations. A Parent’s Guide: Children over 1 year old
    http://www.immunize.ca/uploads/iaw/2013/3p_over1year_web_e.pdf
  4. The 3 P’s of Helping your Child during Vaccinations. A Parent’s Guide: Babies up to 1 year old
    http://immunize.ca/uploads/IAW/2013/vac_pocket_up_to_1_e.pdf

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Immunisation : petites douleurs pour d'immenses bénéfices


La vaccination protège les personnes et les communautés en prévenant la propagation de la maladie. Quand plus de gens se font vacciner, le risque de maladie diminue pour tout le monde. La vaccination a probablement sauvé plus de vies au Canada au cours des 50 dernières années que n'importe quelle autre intervention de santé. - Immunisation Canada.

Même si elles représentaient une menace plus importante dans le passé, les maladies infectieuses causent présentement moins de 5 % de tous les décès au Canada, et ce, grâce aux programmes de vaccination mis en place d’un océan à l’autre.

Si vous êtes nerveuse lors des premiers vaccins de votre bébé, respirez profondément et essayez de vous calmer. Un enfant, même un bébé, peut ressentir votre anxiété et devenir anxieux à son tour. Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour rendre cette expérience la moins douloureuse possible. Pour vous rassurer, gardez en tête l’importance de faire vacciner votre enfant, surtout aussi jeune. Bien que l’allaitement assure le transfert d’une certaine immunité à votre bébé, son organisme n’est pas en mesure de se défendre contre certaines des maladies courantes et potentiellement sérieuses.

Est-ce le temps d’une dose de rappel?

Vers l’âge de 6 ans, votre enfant devra recevoir une ou plusieurs doses de rappel; celles-ci aideront à maintenir les défenses immunitaires que son corps a développées à la suite des vaccins reçus auparavant. Immunisation Canada offre un livret à colorier pour enfant avec des explications faciles à comprendre qui les aidera à se préparer pour la vaccination.

Si vous ne savez pas où aller pour la vaccination de votre enfant, visitez Vaccins411.ca pour trouver la clinique la plus près de chez vous. Quelques jours avant le rendez-vous, préparez votre enfant en lui expliquant ce à quoi il doit s’attendre. Il est important d’être honnête plutôt que de lui dire que ça ne fera pas mal. Lui informer qu’un vaccin est donné par injection dans le bras avec une aiguille. Que cela peut ressembler à un pincement ou une pression pendant quelques secondes. Que vous allez essayer de diminuer le plus possible l’inconfort. Qu’il ou elle pourrait choisir un jouet qui l’aidera à être plus confortable.

Aider votre enfant à recevoir les vaccins – ce que les mères peuvent faire

Avant l’injection :

Engourdir la peau de l’enfant en appliquant un anesthésique topique (disponible en vente libre dans la plupart des pharmacies). Suivre les instructions du produit. L’effet engourdissant devrait être ressenti après 30 à 60 minutes. Pour les enfants de plus de 1 an, appliquer sur la partie supérieure du bras et pour les enfants de moins de 1 an, appliquer sur l’extérieur de la cuisse. Si plusieurs injections sont prévues, appliquer sur les deux bras ou les deux cuisses.

Avant et après l’injection :

  • Donner de l’eau sucrée au bébé. Vous pouvez également l’allaiter, lui donner un biberon ou la suce pendant l’injection.
  • Tenir le bébé contre vous tendrement et surtout fermement, tout en laissant la surface de l’injection exposée.
  • Frotter et masser la peau de l’enfant près du site d’injection.
  • Apaiser votre enfant en le berçant, en chantant ou en lui parlant, ou détourner son attention du site de l’injection avec un objet comme un jouet ou un hochet.

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. L’éducation est importante : Immunisation Canada 
    http://immunize.ca/fr
  2. Foire aux questions - Vaccination - Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux.
    http://sante.gouv.qc.ca/conseils-et-prevention/vaccination/#description
  3. Les 3 P de l’aide aux bébés durant la vaccination. Guide des parents : Enfants de plus d’1 an.
    http://www.immunize.cpha.ca/uploads/IAW/2013/vac_pocket_over_1_f.pdf
  4. Les 3 P de l’aide aux bébés durant la vaccination. Guide des parents : Bébés de moins d’1 an.
    http://www.immunize.cpha.ca/fr/health-care-providers/tips/counselling.aspx