Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Travel Vaccines for a Healthy Vacation


Travelling is the time to unwind, spend quality time as a couple, as a family or with friends, to discover new landscapes and ways of life, to meet new people. However, exotic adventures can quickly become nightmares if certain precautions are not taken before leaving.

In fact, hygiene standards can vary from one country to another while certain diseases need to be avoided at all costs. Before packing your bags, inform yourself on the epidemics that may be going on in your destination country of choice, make sure your vaccination booklet is up to date and plan to visit a travel clinic. You can then safely get away for your new adventures without any nasty surprises!

Many criteria to evaluate your vaccination needs

Vaccination requirements may vary according to the country, the type of travel, as well as age and medical history of each individual. For example, a weeklong trip at an all inclusive hotel in Cuba requires less protection than a 3 month humanitarian stay in the same country.1 It is for these reasons that it is impossible to provide a comprehensive and constant list of vaccines necessary for a country. Between hepatitis A and B, tick-borne, European encephalitis, rabies or pertussis, the list of diseases that require additional precautions is long. You are strongly encouraged to consult a healthcare professional that will be able to evaluate your risks and help you make better decisions for your health while traveling. Plan ahead of time by booking an appointment and give the vaccine time to become effective.

Compulsory vaccines; the case of yellow fever

Some vaccines are suggested by Canadian health services while others are compulsory to be admitted entry into certain countries. For example, the yellow fever vaccine is compulsory in order to travel to certain African, Asian and South American countries. Failure to provide an official proof of vaccination can result in being refused entry, put in quarantine or vaccinated on site. The official document will be given to you upon vaccination. Please note that not all vaccination clinics supply the antiamaril vaccine (against yellow fever). Only a few designated clinics can administer the vaccine in Canada. To find the complete list of countries where a risk of yellow fever contamination is present, and those requiring vaccination against the disease, visit the World Health Organisation's website.

There are other compulsory vaccines that exist, like the case of Saudi Arabia for example, where pilgrims going to Mecca during the Hajj must provide proof of vaccination against polio and meningitis.2

Malaria

Malaria is a widespread disease in tropical and subtropical countries.1 It is transmitted via mosquito bites and can be very dangerous, even deadly. However, no vaccine exists against Malaria. It is therefore recommended to protect yourself against mosquitoes and to take anti-malarial medication before, during and after your stay.

Where to go to get vaccinated?

To find the vaccination clinics nearest you, notably those against yellow fever, visit Vaccines411.ca; enter your postal code and select the Travel section.

Please note that this article is purely informative and does not in any case replace the advice of a healthcare professional. Travelers are invited to book an appointment in a travel clinic to evaluate the risks and take the necessary precautions before their departure.

Vaccines411.ca wishes you an excellent vacation, in good health!

 

Brought to you by vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Protégez-vous, Guide pratique, Voyageur.
  2. Well on your way, A Canadian Guide to healthy travel abroad.
    http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/publications/well-on-your-way

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Vaccins de voyage, pour des vacances en santé


Voyager est l’occasion de se détendre, de passer des moments privilégiés en couple, en famille ou avec des amis, de découvrir de nouveaux paysages et manières de vivre, de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes. Cependant, l’aventure exotique peut très rapidement virer au cauchemar si certaines précautions de santé ne sont pas prises avant le départ.

En effet, les standards d’hygiènes peuvent varier de pays en pays alors que certaines maladies, parfois absentes ou inconnues au Canada, sont à éviter à tout prix. Avant même de faire les bagages, informez-vous sur les épidémies en cours dans le pays de destination, vérifiez que votre carnet de vaccination est à jour et prévoyez un petit détour dans une clinique de voyage. Vous pourrez alors vous échapper pour de nouvelles aventures sans encombre et mauvaise surprise!

Plusieurs critères pour évaluer vos besoins de vaccination

Les besoins de vaccination peuvent varier selon le pays, le style de voyage, ainsi que l’âge, les conditions et l’historique de santé de chacun. Par exemple, un voyage d’une semaine dans un hôtel tout compris à Cuba nécessite moins de protection qu’un séjour humanitaire de 3 mois dans le même pays.1 C’est pour ces raisons qu’il est impossible de dresser une liste complète et constante de vaccins nécessaires par pays. Entre l’hépatite A et B, les encéphalites à tiques ou européennes, la rage ou la coqueluche, la liste des maladies exigeant des précautions supplémentaires est longue. Vous êtes fortement encouragé à consulter un professionnel de la santé qui saura évaluer vos risques et vous aider à prendre les meilleures décisions pour votre santé en voyage. Prenez-vous d'avance pour vous assurer d’avoir rendez-vous et pour donner le temps au vaccin d’agir.

Vaccins obligatoires ; le cas de la fièvre jaune

Quelques vaccins sont suggérés par les services de santé du Canada, d’autres sont obligatoires pour être admis à l’entrée de certains pays. Pour voyager dans certains pays d’Afrique, de l’Asie et de l’Amérique du Sud, par exemple, le vaccin contre la fièvre jaune est obligatoire. Une preuve de vaccination officielle est alors exigée, à risque de se faire refuser l’entrée, mettre en quarantaine ou vacciner sur place. Celle-ci vous sera remise lors de la vaccination. Veuillez noter que toutes les cliniques de vaccination ne fournissent pas le vaccin antiamaril (contre la fièvre jaune). Au Canada, seulement certaines cliniques désignées peuvent administrer ce vaccin. Pour trouver la liste complète des pays où il existe un risque de contamination (de la fièvre jaune), et de ceux exigeant la vaccination contre la maladie, visitez le site de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Il existe d’autres vaccins obligatoires. Nous pourrions ainsi citer le cas de l’Arabie Saoudite, ou les pèlerins allant à la Mecque lors du Hajj doivent fournir une preuve de vaccination contre le polio et le méningocoque.2

La Malaria

La malaria, ou le paludisme est une maladie très répandue, dans les pays tropicaux et subtropicaux.1 Elle se transmet à travers les piqures de moustiques et peut être très dangereuse, voire mortelle. Par contre, il n’existe pas de vaccin contre le paludisme. Il est alors recommandé de se protéger contre les moustiques et de prendre des médicaments anti-malaria avant et après le séjour.

Où aller pour me faire vacciner ?

Pour trouver les cliniques de vaccination les plus proches de chez vous, notamment celle contre la fièvre jaune, visitez www.vaccins411; entrez votre code postal, puis choisissez la catégorie voyageur.

Veuillez bien noter que cet article est purement informatif et ne peut, en aucun cas, remplacer les conseils d’un professionnel de la santé. Les voyageurs sont invités à prendre rendez-vous dans une clinique de voyage, pour évaluer les risques et prendre les précautions nécessaires avant leur départ.

Vaccins411.ca vous souhaite un très bon voyage, en bonne santé!

 

Présenté par vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Protégez-vous, Guide pratique, Voyageur.
  2. Well on your way, A Canadian Guide to healthy travel abroad.
    http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/publications/well-on-your-way