Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Fun in the sun: Immunizations to consider for a safe summer


Fun in the sun: Immunizations to consider for a safe summer

With most Canadian provinces trading in their red status for green, high rates of COVID-19 vaccination rates are teasing freedom we haven’t had in almost two years! All this in time for summer, too, when terraces swell with thirsty patrons, parks fill will happy, playful families, and backyard BBQs become a weekend standard.

The forecast for this summer calls for lots of catching up with important people, followed by a bunch of outdoor activity. Even though green usually means “go”, we would encourage readers to continue to err on the side of caution! Integrate immunizations into your plans this summer to make sure you enjoy the season to its fullest!

 

Planning on travelling? Book your COVID-19 vaccines!

The summer often presents opportunities to travel, and though the last year and a half has been spent at a distance, laws and regulations are starting to ease as COVID diagnoses drop. Make sure you protect yourself and your loved ones by getting vaccinated against the coronavirus.

Before booking those plane tickets, consider informing yourself on these three priorities1:

  1. Do you have both COVID-19 vaccines?
  2. Does the country you’re going to require self-quarantine or a negative COVID test before arrival?
  3. What are the coronavirus laws to respect in the country you’re travelling to?

Definitely make room in your bags for extra face masks and hand sanitizer.

The COVID-19 vaccines are totally free and accessible to all Canadians! Note that there are two doses of the COVID-19 vaccine that you need to book. The second dose can be administered a minimum of four weeks after your first dose and should provide full immunization after two weeks.

To book your free COVID-19 vaccines, find province-specific information on our website.

The great outdoors… and all its obstacles

The summer season is all about indulging in playtime! Whether that be camping, biking, or hiking, the warmer weather is sure to lure you outdoors, the cold bite of winter now only a distant memory. That said, the appeal of being outside comes with risks, namely: the sun, the critters, and the public fixtures.

The sun

Three words: Always. Wear. Sunscreen. We know last winter went on forever, but foregoing SPF entirely while soaking up direct sunlight could result in a myriad of issues. There are the short-term discomforts of sun burns, heat rash and heat stroke (actually, here are three more key words: always drink water!), but the long-term risks include wrinkles (GASP!), sun spots, and more seriously, melanoma2.

The critters

Everything comes alive during the summer… including all of its critters. Even the simplest of activities require some kind of vigilance.

  1. Hiking? Watch out for ticks. After every hike, quickly check your skin for tick bites. It’s kind of gross, but they should be easy to spot: they will likely still be attached to you. Though most often harmless, some tick bites could pass on harmful diseases like Lyme disease. If you plan on spending time in an area where you can’t avoid exposure to ticks this summer, talk to your doctor about Lyme disease prevention. Find more resources on our Lyme Disease Resources page.
  2. Sitting outside? Be mindful of mosquitos. Did you know that, depending on where you live in the world, mosquito bites can sometimes be fatal? Travelers should particularly look for immunizations against yellow fever and Japanese encephalitis, and look into taking preventative measures against malaria. Make sure you’re protected against risks if you’re travelling to a country where mosquitos can cause a lot more than just an uncomfortable bump. Find more resources on our Beware of Mosquito Bites page.
  3. Bringing garbage and recycling to the curb? Keep an eye out for wayward raccoons. With this more temperate climate extending deep into the hours of the night, it’s possible for us to enjoy more time outside. However, that perk extends to other nocturnal creatures, too. A startled raccoon resulting in a bite could transmit rabies and must be treated as quickly as possible. Find more resources on our Rabies Resources page.

Public fixtures

School’s out for summer! With children flocking to public parks to burn through all that extra energy, exposing broken skin to highly contaminated soil, dust or other equipment could pose serious risk, like tetanus. If possible exposure occurs, it’s important to connect with your health care professional to determine if tetanus immunization is required.

Have any questions about available immunizations for a safe summer? Talk to your doctor or health care provider to know where to begin.
 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. COVID-19: Travel, testing, quarantine and borders.
    https://travel.gc.ca/travel-covid
  2. Is Sunbathing Good for You? Benefits, Side Effects, and Precautions.
    https://www.healthline.com/health/sunbathing#summary

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Plaisir et plein air : vaccins à envisager pour vous protéger tout l’été


Plaisir et plein air : vaccins à envisager pour vous protéger tout l’été

Le palier rouge ayant fait place au palier vert dans la plupart des provinces du Canada, les taux élevés de vaccination contre la COVID-19 nous permettent de goûter une liberté que nous n’avions plus depuis près de 2 ans! Juste à temps pour l’été... lorsque les terrasses sont bondées de clients venus se désaltérer, que des familles heureuses et enjouées remplissent les parcs, et que les BBQ entre amis deviennent le rendez-vous du week-end.

À l’horizon cet été : d’abord, beaucoup d’occasions de revoir les gens qui nous tiennent à cœur et ensuite, une foule d’activités en plein air. Néanmoins, même si le passage au vert signifie généralement qu’on peut redémarrer, il vaut mieux pécher par excès de prudence. Intégrez la vaccination dans vos plans pour profiter au maximum de la saison estivale!

Vous pensez voyager? Faites-vous vacciner contre la COVID-19!

Nombreuses sont les occasions de voyager pendant l’été. Si les 18 derniers mois se sont déroulés sous le signe du confinement, les lois et les règlements en vigueur s’assouplissent peu à peu au fil de la baisse du nombre de cas diagnostiqués. Assurez-vous de vous protéger, vos proches et vous-même, en vous faisant vacciner contre la COVID-19.

Avant de réserver des billets d’avion, posez-vous les trois questions prioritaires suivantes1 :

  1. Avez-vous reçu les deux doses du vaccin contre la COVID-19?
  2. Le pays où vous allez exige-t-il la quarantaine ou un test de détection de la COVID-19 négatif avant l’arrivée?
  3. Quelles lois le pays où vous allez a-t-il mises en œuvre contre la COVID-19?

Chose certaine, prévoyez de la place dans vos bagages pour quelques masques et du désinfectant pour les mains.

Les vaccins contre la COVID-19 sont gratuits et accessibles à tous les Canadiens! N’oubliez pas qu’il vous faut prendre rendez-vous pour recevoir les deux doses requises. La deuxième dose – administrée au moins 4 semaines après la première – devrait vous offrir une pleine protection après 2 semaines.

Pour savoir où recevoir votre vaccin gratuit contre la COVID-19, visitez notre site Web; vous y trouverez de l’information spécifique de votre province.

Le plein air... et tous ses aléas

L’été, c’est fait pour s’amuser. Oubliées les froideurs de l’hiver, le temps chaud invite aux sorties en plein air, que ce soit pour faire du camping, du vélo ou de la randonnée. Cela dit, le plein air n’est pas sans risque... pensez au soleil, aux moustiques et aux lieux publics.

Soleil

Une seule recommandation : écran solaire, sans exception! Oui, bien sûr, l’hiver a été très long, mais sans protection solaire, l’exposition à la lumière directe du soleil pourrait être source de problèmes! À court terme : coups de soleil, boutons de chaleur et coups de chaleur (à bien y penser, une autre recommandation s’impose : buvez toujours assez d’eau!). À plus long terme : rides (AÏE!), taches de vieillissement cutané et, beaucoup plus grave, mélanome2.

Moustiques

Tout reprend vie pendant l’été... les petites bêtes y compris! Même la plus simple des activités demande un peu de vigilance.

  1. Vous partez en randonnée? Soyez à l’affût des tiques. Après chaque randonnée, examinez votre peau... les piqûres de tique sont faciles à repérer, car la tique sera probablement encore accrochée à la peau (oui, c’est répugnant!). Les piqûres de tique sont le plus souvent inoffensives, mais la tique peut être porteuse de la maladie de Lyme. Si vous prévoyez passer du temps dans une région où vous serez exposés aux tiques, parlez à votre médecin de la prévention de la maladie de Lyme. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre site Web : Ressources sur la maladie de Lyme.
  2. Vous passez du temps dehors? Attention aux moustiques! Saviez-vous que, selon l’endroit où vous allez dans le monde, les piqûres de moustiques peuvent être mortelles? Peut-être devrez-vous vous faire vacciner contre la fièvre jaune et l’encéphalite japonaise, ou prendre des mesures particulières contre la malaria. Assurez-vous de bien connaître les risques des pays où vous vous rendez... et sachez que les moustiques peuvent causer beaucoup plus qu’une petite rougeur inconfortable. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre site Web : Attention aux piqûres de moustique.
  3. Vous devez mettre vos poubelles et votre bac de recyclage à la rue? Gare aux ratons laveurs ratoureux! Le temps étant clément même la nuit tombée, il n’est pas rare en été que nous restions plus tard à l’extérieur. Soyez aux aguets... certains animaux sont actifs la nuit! Un raton laveur pris par surprise pourrait vous mordre et vous transmettre la rage... il faudra alors agir sans délai! Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre site Web : Ressources sur la rage.

Lieux publics

Exit l’école pendant l’été! Les parcs publics accueillant une ribambelle d’enfants débordant d’énergie, il faut se rappeler que le contact d’une plaie avec un sol, de la poussière ou une pièce d’équipement fortement contaminés pourrait être associé à un risque grave, comme le tétanos. Advenant une telle exposition, consultez un(e) professionnel(le) de la santé pour déterminer si vous devez vous faire vacciner contre le tétanos.

Vous vous posez des questions sur les vaccins que vous devriez recevoir pour passer l’été en toute sécurité? Parlez à votre médecin ou à un(e) autre professionnel(le) de la santé pour savoir où commencer.
 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. COVID-19 : voyage, dépistage, quarantaine et frontières.
    https://voyage.gc.ca/voyage-covid?_ga=2.259522442.1016629829.1626367620-277479517.1626367620
  2. Is Sunbathing Good for You? Benefits, Side Effects, and Precautions. (en anglais seulement)
    https://www.healthline.com/health/sunbathing#summary