Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Herd Immunity; Be Part of the Solution


Herd Immunity; Be Part of the Solution

Getting vaccinated protects you and others you care about. Older and wiser! That old aphorism is repeated throughout our adult lives for good reason.

Experience really is the best teacher. Sharing our experiences and leading by example can help the younger generations. Staying up to date with your vaccinations is a great way to model healthy behavior.

A chain is only as strong as its weakest link – and that is true for herd immunity. Remember the measles outbreak of 2014 that started in Disneyland, or the 159+ cases that followed in 2015 in Quebec, in mostly unvaccinated individuals.1 Such infectious illness outbreaks might be avoided if the majority of people is immunized. 

Herd immunity is about creating a protective bubble of immunity around your circle of family and friends – so encourage every member of the “herd” to update their vaccinations. As a senior, being immunized can help you avoid spreading infectious illnesses to the grandbabies and young children in your family – not to mention your friends who may not be well enough to have a vaccination.2

  

Do you have a friend or relative in long-term care? Then you know how upsetting it can be when their residence goes into “lock down” mode due to a flu or other infectious disease outbreak – no visitors (aside from immediate family) allowed.

That’s where your immune status is a gift in itself. Staying healthy and free of flu or other transmissible ailments like pneumonia allows you to visit people who matter to you without the worry of passing along an infectious illness.2

The yearly influenza vaccine is recommended for everyone age 6 months and older who does not have contraindications to the vaccine. At the same time, anyone at risk for pneumococcal disease can be immunized against pneumococcal disease,3 which causes ear and sinus infections and pneumonia, and is more likely to be serious in older people and young children.4 One dose of PNEU-P-23 vaccine is recommended for all adults 65 years of age and older, regardless of risk factors or previous pneumococcal vaccination.5 

Seniors tend to be at greater risk for infection due to having a suppressed immune system or chronic medical conditions. That’s why people over age 65 are also at risk of more serious consequences if they catch the flu – in fact, seniors account for over 50-70% of hospitalizations and up to 85% of deaths related to influenza. Luckily, there are now enhanced influenza vaccines especially developed to be effective in protecting seniors from the flu.6

Finally, as we get older (> 50), anyone who has had chicken pox has an increasing risk of developing shingles, which affects one in three individuals in their lifetime when the varicella zoster virus that causes chickenpox is reactivated.7 As our immune defenses weaken with age, resistance to the latent chicken pox virus wanes, increasing shingles rates to 1 in 2 in people by age 85.

Two shingles vaccines are available for immunization of anyone over age 50 who had, or may have had chickenpox. And because shingles can occur more than once, those who have had shingles can also be vaccinated or revaccinated.8

Talk to your doctor and find out which vaccinations you need to keep you healthy and make your contribution to your community’s herd immunity.

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Measles Outbreak Traced to Disneyland is Declared Over. Feb 23, 2015
    https://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/measles-outbreak/measles-outbreak-traced-disneyland-declared-over-n343686
  2. How does herd immunity work? Script from the animation by the Vaccine Knowledge Project, Oxford Vaccine Group, University of Oxford:
    http://vk.ovg.ox.ac.uk/herd-immunity
  3. Quebec Immunization Schedule.
    https://www.quebec.ca/en/health/advice-and-prevention/vaccination/quebec-immunisation-program/
  4. Pneumococcal disease. Ontario.ca
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/pro/programs/immunization/docs/hcp_fact_sheets_pneumococcal_disease.pdf
  5. Update on the use of pneumococcal vaccines in adults 65 years of age and older – A Public Health Perspective. An Advisory Committee Statement (ACS) National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI)
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/update-on-the-use-of-pneumococcal-vaccines-in-adult.html
  6. NFID 2016
    http://www.nfid.org/flu-older-adults
  7. GSK Shingles Vaccine Shingrix Gets First Okay in Canada. Medscape. Oct 13 2017.
    https://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/887024
  8. An Advisory Committee Statement (ACS) National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI) † Update on the Use of Herpes Zoster Vaccine. January 2014.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/update-use-herpes-zoster-vaccine.html

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Immunité collective : Participez à la solution!


Immunité collective : Participez à la solution!

Se faire vacciner, c’est se protéger soi-même et protéger ses proches. Avec l’âge, on devient sage! Cet aphorisme, nous l’entendons tout au long de notre vie adulte, avec raison d’ailleurs. L’expérience est vraiment la meilleure école. En prêchant par l’exemple et en parlant de nos expériences, nous pouvons aider les jeunes. Et rester à jour dans ses vaccins, c’est une excellente façon d’inspirer un comportement sain.

Une chaîne n’a que la force de son maillon le plus faible. C’est vrai aussi de l’immunité collective. Rappelez-vous l’éclosion de cas de rougeole à Disneyland en 2014, ou les 159+ cas subséquents au Québec en 2015, majoritairement des sujets non vaccinés1. De telles éclosions pourraient être évitées si la majorité des gens étaient vaccinés. 

L’immunité collective étant en fait une bulle protectrice autour de votre famille et de vos amis, encouragez chaque membre de votre « collectivité » à se tenir à jour dans ses vaccins. Si vous êtes du troisième âge, vous faire vacciner pourrait éviter de propager une maladie infectieuse aux bébés et aux jeunes enfants de votre famille – sans compter vos amis qui ne sont peut-être pas en état de recevoir un vaccin2.

  

Vous avez un ami ou un parent en établissement de soins prolongés? Vous savez alors combien il est pénible que l’accès à la résidence soit restreint en raison d’une éclosion de cas de grippe ou d’une autre maladie infectieuse, aucun visiteur (sauf la famille immédiate) n’étant alors autorisé à y entrer.

Vos défenses immunitaires constituent alors un cadeau. Si vous échappez à la grippe ou à d’autres maladies transmissibles comme la pneumonie et que vous demeurez en bonne santé, vous pourrez rendre visite aux personnes qui vous sont chères sans craindre de propager une maladie infectieuse2.

Le vaccin antigrippal annuel est recommandé pour toute personne de 6 mois ou plus qui ne présente aucune contre-indication au vaccin. En parallèle, le vaccin antipneumococcique peut être donné aux personnes à risque d’infection pneumococcique3, telles l’otite, la sinusite et la pneumonie, qui risque d’être plus grave chez les personnes âgées et les jeunes enfants4. Le vaccin PNEU-P-23 (une dose) est recommandé chez tous les adultes de 65 ans ou plus, quels que soient leurs facteurs de risque et leurs antécédents de vaccination antipneumococcique5.

Les personnes âgées sont généralement plus vulnérables aux infections en raison de l’affaiblissement de leur système immunitaire ou des maladies chroniques dont elles souffrent. C’est pourquoi les personnes de plus de 65 ans qui contractent la grippe sont aussi plus vulnérables aux conséquences graves de cette infection. En fait, chez les personnes âgées, la grippe est à l’origine de 50 à 70 % des hospitalisations liées à la grippe et de jusqu’à 85 % des décès liés à la grippe. Fort heureusement, il existe maintenant sur le marché des vaccins antigrippaux d’efficacité rehaussée conçus pour protéger les personnes âgées6.

Enfin, avec l’âge (> 50 ans), toute personne qui a déjà eu la varicelle est exposée à un risque croissant de zona, maladie qui touche 1 personne sur 3 au cours de sa vie en cas de réactivation du virus varicelle zona (VVZ)7. Comme le système immunitaire s’affaiblit avec l’âge, la résistance au VVZ latent s’estompe, si bien qu’à l’âge de 85 ans, l’incidence du zona passe à 1 personne sur 2.

Il existe sur le marché deux vaccins contre le zona pour les personnes de plus de 50 ans qui ont assurément ou probablement contracté la varicelle. Le zona pouvant survenir plus d’une fois, toute personne ayant déjà eu un zona peut se faire vacciner ou revacciner8.

Demandez à votre médecin quels vaccins vous devriez recevoir pour rester en bonne santé et ainsi contribuer à l’immunité collective dans votre entourage

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Measles Outbreak Traced to Disneyland is Declared Over. Feb 23, 2015
    https://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/measles-outbreak/measles-outbreak-traced-disneyland-declared-over-n343686
  2. How does herd immunity work? Script from the animation by the Vaccine Knowledge Project, Oxford Vaccine Group, University of Oxford:
    http://vk.ovg.ox.ac.uk/herd-immunity
  3. Programme québécois d’immunisation
    https://www.quebec.ca/sante/conseils-et-prevention/vaccination/programme-quebecois-d-immunisation/
  4. La maladie pneumococcique. Ontario.ca
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/fr/pro/programs/immunization/docs/hcp_fact_sheets_pneumococcal_disease.pdf
  5. Mise à jour sur l’utilisation de vaccins contre le pneumocoque chez les adultes de 65 ans et plus – une perspective de santé publique. Une déclaration d'un comité consultatif (DCC) du Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI)
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/mise-a-jour-sur-l-utilisation-de-vaccins-contre-le-pneumocoque-chez-les-adultes-de-65-ans-et-plus.html
  6. NFID 2016
    http://www.nfid.org/flu-older-adults
  7. GSK Shingles Vaccine Shingrix Gets First Okay in Canada. Medscape. Oct 13 2017.
    https://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/887024
  8. Mise à jour sur l'utilisation du vaccin contre le zona. Une déclaration d'un comité consultatif (DCC) Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI). Février 2014.
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/mise-a-jour-utilisation-vaccin-contre-zona.html