Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

Vaccines in Development


Vaccines in Development

Disease prevention has never been more important than it is today. With more than 5,500 active cases of COVID-19 reported as of late July, and almost 114,000 total cases, a return to normality in Canada may not be possible until a successful vaccine is found.1

Many vaccines are in development – in addition to COVID-19 research, work continues on vaccines to help prevent diseases including dengue fever, herpes simplex virus, HIV-1, malaria, to name just a few.2

Also in the pipeline are therapeutic vaccines that help the body fight cancers – including breast, ovarian, prostate, and non-small cell lung cancers – and diseases such as Lou Gehrig’s and Alzheimer's disease.3, page 9

Tackling Lyme Disease

A vaccine to prevent Lyme disease (spread through tick bites) may soon be available - Valneva (makers of Dukoral) announced that VLA15 Phase II dosing and effectiveness studies in 800 individuals are expected by the end of 2020. 4

Cancer vaccines: Building on success

In cancer treatment, immunotherapy helps a person’s own immune system recognize and destroy cancer cells more effectively.3 For instance, therapeutic antibodies have been developed that can improve response to treatment of various cancers, including a subtype of breast cancer called human epidermal growth factor receptor 2–positive (HER2+) breast cancer, which accounts for ~25% of breast cancer cases.5

COVID-19 Vaccine update

While the need for a vaccine to prevent COVID-19 remains desperately high, the progress made in a remarkably short time is encouraging. The World Health Organization reported that as of the end of June, there were 16 COVID-19 vaccines in human clinical trials and at least 125 more in earlier stages world-wide.6

The ChAdOx1 vaccine is now in Phase III clinical trials in more than 10,000 people in the UK,7 having safely induced an immune response in Phase I/II trials. This candidate vaccine was developed by Oxford University and AstraZeneca from a genetically engineered virus that causes the common cold in chimpanzees.8

The mRNA-1273 vaccine developed by Moderna and funded by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) in the US is undergoing Phase II trials and began Phase III trials in July.7,9

Here in Canada, in July, a candidate COVID-19 vaccine developed by Quebec's Medicago became the first Canadian vaccine to enter Phase I trials. This vaccine uses recombinant technology involving the genetic sequence of a virus, with living plants as the host, rather than traditional egg-based or cell-based methods as the host. Should it prove effective, a plant-based vaccine would be significantly faster to produce, with more consistent results.10

As well, the Ad5-nCoV vaccine (developed by CanSino Biologics in China) has been approved by Health Canada for human trials at the Canadian Centre for Vaccinology at Dalhousie University, after eliciting an immune response in early-stage studies. The trial start date is pending access to the vaccine.11  

Now is not the time to neglect routine vaccinations

More than 20 diseases are preventable through immunization.12 Unfortunately, routine vaccination has been declining due to children being out of school and more limited access to in-person health care. Even during the pandemic, the CDC says it's important to prioritize vaccination of newborns, infants, and young children under the age of 2 years.

And with a second surge of COVID-19 predicted for this fall as flu season begins, it is especially important that everyone aged 6 months and older get their flu vaccination this year.13

Words to inspire

“For the people on the frontlines and in the trenches, hang in there with us. We're all in it together and we're gonna get through it.” Dr. Anthony Fauci, the head of the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Medscape Podcast, July 17 2020.

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19): Epidemiology update
    https://health-infobase.canada.ca/COVID-19/epidemiological-summary-COVID-19-cases.html
  2. Vaccines and diseases
    https://www.who.int/immunization/diseases/en/
  3. Injecting Success: The Future of Vaccines in Canada
    http://www.biotech.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/vaccines_10_2010.pdf
  4. VLA15 Lyme Disease Vaccine
    https://www.precisionvaccinations.com/vaccines/vla15-lyme-disease-vaccine
  5. Immunotherapy in HER2-positive breast cancer: state of the art and future perspectives
    https://jhoonline.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s13045-019-0798-2
  6. WHO, partners unveil ambitious plan to deliver 2 billion doses of Covid-19 vaccine to high-risk populations
    https://www.statnews.com/2020/06/26/who-partners-unveil-ambitious-plan-to-deliver-2-billion-doses-of-COVID-19-vaccine-to-high-risk-populations/
  7. The latest in the COVID-19 vaccine race
    https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/covid-19-vaccine-race
  8. Coronavirus: Oxford vaccine triggers immune response
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-53469839
  9. Moderna coronavirus vaccine shows 'promising' safety and immune response results in published Phase 1 study, but more research is needed
    https://www.cnn.com/2020/07/14/health/moderna-coronavirus-vaccine-phase-1-study/index.html
  10. Human clinical trials begin for Quebec-made coronavirus vaccine candidate, but CEO urges caution
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/human-trials-covid-19-vaccine-candidate-quebec-1.5648648
  11. The National Research Council of Canada and CanSino Biologics Inc. announce collaboration to advance vaccine against COVID-19
    https://www.canada.ca/en/national-research-council/news/2020/05/the-national-research-council-of-canada-and-cansino-biologics-inc-announce-collaboration-to-advance-vaccine-against-COVID-19.html
  12. Vaccines work at all ages, everywhere
    https://www.who.int/immunization/newsroom/en/
  13. Prioritize Vaccines Now - Before We Have One for COVID-19
    https://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/932676

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Vaccins en développement


Vaccins en développement

La prévention des maladies n’a jamais été si importante. Fin juillet, au Canada, on rapportait plus de 5500 cas actifs de COVID-19, ce qui portait alors le nombre total de cas à près de 114 000. Il y a donc fort à parier que le retour à la normale ne sera pas envisageable avant la mise au point d’un vaccin efficace1.

De nombreux vaccins sont à l’étude. Outre la recherche qui se fait sur la COVID-19, la quête d’un vaccin se poursuit dans la lutte contre des maladies telles que la fièvre dengue, les infections par le virus de l’herpès simplex et le VIH-1 et la malaria, pour ne nommer que celles-là2.

Les chercheurs explorent aussi l’avenue des vaccins thérapeutiques qui aideraient l’organisme à combattre un cancer – notamment les cancers du sein, des ovaires, de la prostate et du poumon non à petites cellules – et des maladies comme la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (maladie de Lou Gehrig) et la maladie d’Alzheimer3, page 9.

Lutte contre la maladie de Lyme

Un vaccin visant à prévenir la maladie de Lyme (qui se contracte par une piqûre de tique) pourrait bientôt voir le jour. Valneva (le fabricant de Dukoral) a annoncé que son candidat-vaccin VLA15 n’avait soulevé aucune crainte au terme des essais d’évaluation de l’innocuité800 personnes étaient attendus d’ici la fin de 20204.

Vaccins anti-cancer : savoir tirer profit des succès antérieurs

Dans le traitement du cancer, l’immunothérapie aide le système immunitaire à reconnaître et à détruire les cellules cancéreuses plus efficacement3. Par exemple, on a mis au point des anticorps à visée thérapeutique qui peuvent améliorer la réponse au traitement de divers cancers, y compris un sous-type de cancer du sein dit HER2+ (avec récepteur 2 du facteur de croissance épidermique humain), qui représente environ 25 % des cas de cancer du sein5.

Le point sur les vaccins contre la COVID-19

Bien qu’un vaccin permettant de prévenir la COVID-19 continue de faire cruellement défaut, les énormes progrès accomplis en un temps record sont encourageants. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé déclarait fin juin que 16 vaccins contre la COVID-19 faisaient l’objet d’essais cliniques chez l’humain et qu’au moins 125 autres en étaient à des stades moins avancés de la recherche dans le monde entier6.

Le vaccin ChAdOx1 fait maintenant l’objet d’essais de phase III chez plus de 10 000 personnes au Royaume-Uni7, les essais de phase I/II ayant prouvé l’obtention d’une réponse immunitaire en toute sécurité. Ce candidat-vaccin a été mis au point par l’université Oxford et AstraZeneca à partir d’un virus génétiquement manipulé qui cause un rhume banal chez le chimpanzé8.

Le vaccin mRNA-1273 mis au point par Moderna et financé par le National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) aux États-Unis est actuellement testé dans des essais de phase II. Des essais de phase III ont commencé en juillet7, 9.

Ici, au Canada, en juillet, un candidat-vaccin anti-COVID-19 mis au point par l’entreprise québécoise Medicago est devenu le premier vaccin canadien à faire l’objet d’un essai de phase I. Conçu à partir de la séquence génétique d’un virus, ce vaccin recombinant est cultivé sur des plantes vivantes plutôt que sur des œufs (culture traditionnelle) ou des cellules. Si ce vaccin produit sur plantes s’avère efficace, il pourrait être fabriqué significativement plus rapidement et donnerait des résultats plus constants10.

Enfin, Santé Canada a approuvé l’utilisation du vaccin Ad5-nCoV (mis au point par CanSino Biologics en Chine) dans le cadre d’essais chez l’humain au Centre canadien de vaccinologie de l’université Dalhousie, des chercheurs ayant observé une réponse immunitaire lors des premières études. L’accès au vaccin déterminera la date du début de l’essai11

Il ne faut surtout pas négliger les vaccins usuels en ce moment

La vaccination permet d’éviter plus de 20 maladies12. Malheureusement, les vaccins usuels ont été moins utilisés chez les enfants en raison de la fermeture des écoles et de la diminution des soins de santé prodigués en présentiel. Aux États-Unis, selon les Centers for Disease Control (CDC), il est important de prioriser la vaccination chez les nouveau-nés, les nourrissons et les enfants de moins de 2 ans.

Étant donné la perspective d’une deuxième vague de COVID-19 à l’automne, en parallèle à la saison grippale, il est particulièrement important que toute personne de 6 mois ou plus reçoive le vaccin antigrippal cette année13.

Quelques mots inspirants

« À tous ceux et celles qui sont au front et dans les tranchées, ne lâchez pas!  Nous sommes tous dans le même bateau et nous allons nous en sortir tous ensemble », affirme le Dr Anthony Fauci, le directeur du National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases aux États-Unis, balado publié sur Medscape, 17 juillet 2020.

Cet article vous est offert par Vaccins411.ca – Sachez où aller pour vous faire vacciner !

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19): Epidemiology update
    https://health-infobase.canada.ca/covid-19/epidemiological-summary-covid-19-cases.html (en anglais seulement)
  2. Vaccines and diseases
    https://www.who.int/immunization/diseases/en/ (en anglais seulement)
  3. Injecting Success: The Future of Vaccines in Canada
    http://www.biotech.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/vaccines_10_2010.p df (en anglais seulement)
  4. VLA15 Lyme Disease Vaccine
    https://www.precisionvaccinations.com/vaccines/vla15-lyme-dis ease-vaccine (en anglais seulement)
  5. Immunotherapy in HER2-positive breast cancer: state of the art and future perspectives
    https://jhoonline.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s13045-019-07 98-2 (en anglais seulement)
  6. WHO, partners unveil ambitious plan to deliver 2 billion doses of Covid-19 vaccine to high-risk populations
    https://www.statnews.com/2020/06/26/who-partners-unveil-ambitious-plan-to-deliver-2-billion-doses-of-COVID-19-vaccine-to-high-risk-populations/ (en anglais seulement)
  7. The latest in the COVID-19 vaccine race
    https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/covid-19-vaccine-race (en anglais seulement)
  8. Coronavirus: Oxford vaccine triggers immune response
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-53469839 (en anglais seulement)
  9. Moderna coronavirus vaccine shows 'promising' safety and immune response results in published Phase 1 study, but more research is needed
    https://www.cnn.com/2020/07/14/health/mod erna-coronavirus-vaccine-phase-1-study/index.html (en anglais seulement)
  10. Human clinical trials begin for Quebec-made coronavirus vaccine candidate, but CEO urges caution
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/human-trials-covi d-19-vaccine-candidate-quebec-1.5648648 (en anglais seulement)
  11. The National Research Council of Canada and CanSino Biologics Inc. announce collaboration to advance vaccine against COVID-19
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/conseil-national-recherches/nouvelles/2020/05/annonce-de-collaboration-entre-le-conseil-nationa l-de-recherches-du-canada-et-cansino-biologics-inc-pour-le-developpement-dun-vaccin-contre-la-covi.html (en anglais seulement)
  12. Vaccines work at all ages, everywhere
    https://www.who.int/immunization/newsroom/en/ (en anglais seulement)
  13. Prioritize Vaccines Now - Before We Have One for COVID-19
    https://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/932676 (en anglais seulement)