Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

What you need to know about HPV: Let's talk about sex, baby!


What you need to know about HPV: Let's talk about sex, baby!

The dating pool in 2020 has had its fair share of challenges. For those not living with their intimate partner, or for the single among us, love in the time of COVID-19 could be complicated. Recently, Canadian health officials have named a new important source of protection during intercourse aside from contraceptives: the mask1.

HPV – the human papillomavirus – can affect three in four men and women throughout their lifetime. With over 100 strains of HPV, it’s estimated that over 70% of sexually active Canadians will have been infected at some point in their life2. To contribute to HPV awareness, here is what you can do to prevent its contraction.

How it’s transmitted

HPV is highly contagious: in fact, it can spread just via wandering hands before couples even get to the point of sex. With people staying single for longer, individuals may choose to have more sexual encounters, so using condoms and getting vaccinated play a crucial role in reducing the probability of transmission.

What are some symptoms of infection?

Most cases solve themselves on their own in due time – and oftentimes, without the carrier even knowing it’s there. In its visible manifestations, HPV can result in genital warts (noticeable bumps commonly found around the genitals) and cervical cancer most commonly, though men and women are both at risk for many other types of genital cancers that can occur as well.

Prevention and vaccination

In Canada, vaccination against HPV can occur before the prospect of a romantic relationship even sounds appealing, as young as the age of nine in girls and boys3. If immunization doesn’t occur in childhood, which is best, women up to 46 years of age and men up to 26 can still make arrangements to get vaccinated. Some science claims that immunization is most effective before the recipient becomes sexually active in the first place.

Also, because cervical cancer is one of the most serious threats of HPV in women, it is imperative to go for all scheduled PAP tests. Early prevention is key.

Treatment

As it is right now, there is no treatment for HPV4. In many cases, the body will take care of the issue on its own. That said, contracting the virus once does not immunize you against a second infection from another strain, nor against reinfection from the same strain. The vaccines offered on the market offer important protection, nonetheless. Treatments for genital warts and cancers should be discussed with your doctor. There are currently three approved vaccines for HPV in Canada: Gardasil®, Gardasil®9 and Cervarix®5.

As with any vaccination, talk to your doctor or health care provider to see if you may be a good candidate for the immunization. If you’re a parent or guardian, you may even want to request information from your child’s school to see if the vaccine will be made available to students.

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Government of Canada. Statement from the Chief Public Health Officer of Canada on September 2, 2020.
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/news/2020/09/statement-from-the-chief-public-health-officer-of-canada-on-september-2-2020.html
  2. Government of Canada. Human Papillomavirus (HPV).
    https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/infectious-diseases/sexual-health-sexually-transmitted-infections/human-papillomavirus-hpv.html
  3. The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada. Prevention.
    https://www.hpvinfo.ca/prevention/
  4. Planned Parenthood. How is HPV treated?
    https://www.plannedparenthood.org/learn/stds-hiv-safer-sex/hpv/how-hpv-treated
  5. Action Canada for Sexual Health & Rights. Human Papilloma Virus (HPV).
    https://www.actioncanadashr.org/resources/sexual-health-info/sexually-transmitted-infections/types-sexually-transmitted-infections/human-papilloma-virus-hpv?gclid=CjwKCAjwzIH7BRAbEiwAoDxxTiY2wttnn2_1UjXboZy20pBtK-oeIhwSD6RSNEHmwDTB_0f1m9-PLxoCAcQQAvD_BwE

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Ce qu'il faut savoir sur le VPH : Parlons de sexe!


Ce qu'il faut savoir sur le VPH : Parlons de sexe!

Pas évident de rencontrer l’âme sœur en 2020! Pour ceux d’entre nous qui ne vivent pas avec leur partenaire intime et pour les célibataires parmi nous, l’amour au temps de la COVID-19 n’est pas simple. Les autorités sanitaires du Canada ont récemment ajouté un moyen de protection aux méthodes contraceptives durant une relations sexuelle : le masque1.

Le VPH – le virus du papillome humain – peut affecter trois hommes ou femmes sur quatre au cours de leur vie. Le VPH se déclinant en une centaine de souches, on estime que plus de 70 % des Canadiens ayant une vie sexuelle active seront infectés par le VPH à un moment de leur vie2. Voici quelques suggestions pour vous épargner ce virus.

Comment se transmet-il?

Le VPH est très contagieux : en fait, des mains baladeuses peuvent le répandre avant même qu’il y ait une relation sexuelle. Comme le célibat dure maintenant plus longtemps, les rencontres sexuelles peuvent être plus nombreuses. Le port du condom et la vaccination jouent donc un rôle clé si l’on aspire à réduire la probabilité de transmission.

Quels sont les principaux symptômes de l’infection?

Dans la plupart des cas, l’infection se résorbe d’elle-même avec le temps. Et il est fréquent que la personne porteuse ne sache même pas qu’elle est infectée. Le plus souvent, les manifestations visibles de l’infection par le VPH sont les verrues génitales (petites bosses dans les parties génitales) et le cancer du col, mais beaucoup d’autres types de cancers génitaux peuvent survenir, tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes.

Prévention et vaccination

Au Canada, la vaccination contre le VPH peut se faire dès l’âge de 9 ans chez les filles et les garçons, c’est-à-dire avant même que la perspective d’une relation intime se profile à l’horizon3. Si la vaccination ne se fait pas pendant l’enfance – le moment optimal –, les femmes peuvent se faire vacciner jusqu’à l’âge de 46 ans et les hommes, jusqu’à l’âge de 26 ans. Selon certaines données scientifiques, l’efficacité de la vaccination est maximale avant que la personne vaccinée devienne sexuellement active.

En outre, le cancer du col étant l’une des pires conséquences de l’infection par le VPH chez la femme, il est impératif de suivre les recommandations du médecin quant à la fréquence des tests de Pap. La prévention est cruciale.

Traitement

Pour l’instant, il n’existe aucun traitement contre l’infection par le VPH en tant que telle4. Dans de nombreux cas, l’infection se résorbe d’elle-même. Cela dit, le fait de contracter le virus une fois n’immunise pas contre une deuxième infection par une autre souche du virus ni contre une réinfection par la même souche. Les vaccins offerts sur le marché offrent néanmoins une protection importante. Le traitement des verrues génitales et des cancers qui découlent de l’infection par le VPH doit faire l’objet d’une discussion avec votre médecin. Au Canada, trois vaccins contre le VPH ont été homologués : Gardasil®, Gardasil®9 et Cervarix®5.

Comme c’est le cas pour toute forme de vaccination, vous devez d’abord parler à votre médecin ou à un professionnel de la santé pour savoir si ce vaccin vous convient. Si vous êtes parent ou tuteur, vous pouvez aussi vous informer auprès de l’école de votre enfant pour savoir si le vaccin sera offert en milieu scolaire.

Cet article vous est offert par Vaccins411.ca – Sachez où aller pour vous faire vacciner !

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Gouvernement du Canada. Déclaration de l'administratrice en chef de la santé publique du Canada, le 2 septembre 2020.
    https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/nouvelles/2020/09/declaration-de-ladministratrice-en-chef-de-la-sante-publique-du-canada-le-2-septembre-2020.html
  2. Gouvernement du Canada. Virus du papillome humain (VPH).
     https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/maladies-infectieuses/sante-sexuelle-infections-transmissibles-sexuellement/virus-papillome-humain-vph.html
  3. La Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada. Prévention.
    https://www.hpvinfo.ca/fr/prevention/
  4. Planned Parenthood. How is HPV treated?
    https://www.plannedparenthood.org/learn/stds-hiv-safer-sex/hpv/how-hpv-treated
  5. Action Canada pour la santé et les droits sexuels. Le virus du papillome humain (VPH).
    https://www.actioncanadashr.org/fr/node/221/types-dinfections-transmises-sexuellement/le-virus-du-papillome-humain-vph?gclid=CjwKCAjwzIH7BRAbEiwAoDxxTiY2wttnn2_1UjXboZy20pBtK-oeIhwSD6RSNEHmwDTB_0f1m9-PLxoCAcQQAvD_BwE