Enter your postal code to find the vaccinating clinic closest to you.
Germ Guy
Enter your postal code
If you do not know your postal code, click here to access Canada Post postal code lookup
Germ Guy

How the flu shot can help each member of your family


Q & A: Vaccines for Mothers to be

Influenza is a common and easily spread virus – with fall here and winter approaching, now is the time to take action to protect your family from an illness that for some, can have serious complications.2

Moms to be

Getting the flu during pregnancy can lead to pneumonia, or cause a woman to go into labour prematurely.3 The Public Health Agency of Canada’s (PHAC) National Advisory Committee on Immunization advises women who are expecting a baby to be get vaccinated. If your baby is going to be born during the winter or spring season, the flu vaccination is especially important to help reduce these risks.2

Having the flu shot when you are pregnant will protect your newborn against influenza for his or her first 6 months; breastfeeding after immunization is also protective during the first months of life. Once babies reach the age of 6 months, they can receive their own flu shot, which is specifically recommended by the PHAC’s National Advisory Committee on Immunization for all children from 6 months old to 5 years.2

Parents and other adults

Have you ever been sick enough that you were unable to fulfill your daily responsibilities like taking care of your children or going to work? The Center for Disease Control (CDC) says the average worker misses 1-10 days of work each year because of the flu.1

While healthy adults likely won’t suffer major consequences from contracting the flu, getting it can be fatal for newborns, seniors, and people with compromised immune systems. Getting vaccinated will help you prevent getting the flu and spreading it to others who are unable to receive the vaccine.

So getting the flu shot is not only good for your own health, it’s beneficial for the economy and the entire community.

Infants and toddlers

Did you know that almost one out of two (40%) unvaccinated children gets the flu during influenza season? And being vaccinated against the latest strain of the flu cuts a child’s risk of developing influenza-related ear infections in half.2 It also reduces a child’s risk of flu-related hospitalization.

Babies under 2 years old are especially vulnerable to complications such as pneumonia, infection and seizures.2

School-age children and teens

School kids spend most of their day in close contact with other children. The influenza virus can survive for hours in dried mucus and is easily transmitted through direct contact.2 Children with asthma, heart conditions, neurological disorders and diabetes may be especially hard-hit by the flu.

Grandparents

Anyone over the age of 65 can benefit from the flu, and pneumococcal vaccines which can be safely administered together.2 Many people develop chronic health conditions including asthma, cardiovascular conditions, and diabetes as they age. This may make them especially vulnerable to the flu and potentially serious complications, such as bacterial pneumonia.5

Grandparents who live in retirement homes or long-term care are especially vulnerable to infection, and the flu is easily spread from person to person through droplets (e.g. saliva, sneezing) and by contact with objects or surfaces like door knobs, that have been in contact with the someone carrying the virus.2

 

Brought to you by Vaccines411.ca – know where to go for your vaccinations.

This information should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your doctor. There may be variations in treatment that your physician may recommend based on individual facts and circumstances.



Sources

Note: the hyperlinks that direct to other sites are not continuously updated. It is possible that some links become untraceable over time. Thank you.

  1. Why Everyone Should Get A Flu Shot — Even Healthy Adults. Business Insider.
    http://www.businessinsider.com/should-i-get-the-flu-shot-2014-9#ixzz3hJT5xhDu
  2. Top ten reasons to get the flu shot. Province of Ontario publication.
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/pro/programs/publichealth/flu/docs/hcw_education_tool_en.pdf
  3. Influenza and pregnancy.
    http://www.marchofdimes.org/pregnancy/influenza-and-pregnancy.aspx
  4. Influenza, Avian Influenza and Pandemic Influenza.
    http://ipac-canada.org/influenza-resources.php
  5. Why Seniors Should Get the Inactivated Influenza (Flu) Vaccine
    http://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthfiles/hfile12a.stm

Insérez votre code postal pour trouver la clinique de vaccination la plus proche de vous.
Germ Guy
INSÉREZ VOTRE CODE POSTAL
Si vous ne connaissez pas votre code postal, cliquez ici afin d’accéder au Service de recherche de code postal de Postes Canada
Germ Guy

Comment le vaccin antigrippal peut aider tous les membres de votre famille


Q & R : Vaccins pour futures mamans

Le virus de l'influenza est un virus courant qui se transmet facilement – l'automne est déjà là et l'hiver approche à grands pas. Il est aujourd'hui temps d'intervenir pour protéger votre famille contre une maladie qui peut entraîner de graves complications chez certaines personnes2.

Futures mamans

Une grippe pendant la grossesse peut se transformer en pneumonie ou provoquer prématurément le travail3. Le Conseil consultatif national de l'immunisation de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC) conseille aux femmes enceintes de se faire vacciner. Si le bébé est attendu pendant l'hiver ou au printemps, le vaccin antigrippal est particulièrement important pour aider à réduire les risques2.

Le vaccin antigrippal administré pendant la grossesse protègera le nouveau-né contre l'influenza pendant ses 6 premiers mois de vie; l'allaitement après l'immunisation offre aussi une protection pendant les premiers mois de vie. Dès qu'ils ont 6 mois, les bébés peuvent recevoir le vaccin antigrippal spécialement recommandé par le Conseil consultatif national de l'immunisation de l'ASPC pour les enfants de 6 mois à 5 ans2.

Parents et autres adultes

Avez-vous déjà été tellement malade que vous étiez incapable de vaquer à vos activités quotidiennes, par exemple prendre soin de vos enfants ou vous rendre au travail? Les Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies (CDC) des États-Unis affirment que chaque année, le travailleur moyen manque de une à dix journées de travail à cause de la grippe .

Un adulte en santé ne souffrira probablement pas de graves conséquences s'il attrape la grippe, mais elle peut être fatale pour les nouveau-nés, pour les personnes âgées et pour celles dont le système immunitaire est affaibli. Le vaccin antigrippal vous aidera à éviter de contracter l'influenza et de la transmettre à d'autres qui ne peuvent pas recevoir ce vaccin.

Recevoir le vaccin n'est donc pas uniquement bon pour votre santé, il est bénéfique pour l'économie et pour toute la communauté.

Bébés et jeunes enfants

Saviez-vous que pendant la saison de la grippe, près de un bébé non vacciné sur deux (40 %) l'attrape? Le fait d'être vacciné contre la plus récente souche de virus de la grippe réduit de moitié le risque qu'un enfant contracte des infections de l'oreille2 liées à la maladie. Les risques d'hospitalisation liés à la grippe sont aussi réduits.

Les bébés de moins de deux ans sont particulièrement susceptibles aux complications comme la pneumonie, les infections et les convulsions.2

Enfants d'âge scolaire et adolescents

Les écoliers passent la plus grande partie de leur journée en contact avec d'autres enfants. Le virus de la grippe peut survivre de nombreuses heures dans le mucus séché, et il se transmet facilement par contact direct2. Les enfants qui souffrent d'asthme, de troubles cardiaques, de troubles neurologiques et de diabète peuvent être particulièrement vulnérables à la grippe.

Grands-parents

Toutes les personnes de plus de 65 ans peuvent bénéficier de vaccins antigrippaux et antipneumococciques qui peuvent être administrés ensemble sans problème2. Avec le vieillissement de la population, beaucoup de personnes sont atteintes de maladies chroniques : asthme, maladies cardiovasculaires et diabète, pour ne nommer que celles-là, qui peuvent les rendre particulièrement vulnérables à l'influenza et à des complications potentielles graves comme la pneumonie bactérienne5.

Les grands-parents qui vivent dans des maisons de retraite ou dans des établissements de soins de longue durée sont particulièrement susceptibles d'être infectés, et l'influenza se transmet facilement par gouttelettes (salive, éternuements) et par contact avec des objets ou des surfaces comme les poignées de porte qui ont été touchées par un porteur du virus2.

 

Présenté par Vaccins411.ca, pour savoir où aller pour vos vaccins!

Cette information ne doit pas remplacer les soins et les conseils prodigués par votre médecin. Votre médecin peut recommander des traitements différents en fonction de vos antécédents et de votre situation.



Sources

Note : les liens hypertextes menant vers d’autres sites ne sont pas mis à jour de façon continue. Il est possible qu’un lien devienne introuvable avec le temps. Merci.

  1. Why Everyone Should Get A Flu Shot — Even Healthy Adults. Business Insider.
    http://www.businessinsider.com/should-i-get-the-flu-shot-2014-9#ixzz3hJT5xhDu
  2. Top ten reasons to get the flu shot. Province of Ontario publication.
    http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/pro/programs/publichealth/flu/docs/hcw_education_tool_en.pdf
  3. Influenza and pregnancy.
    http://www.marchofdimes.org/pregnancy/influenza-and-pregnancy.aspx
  4. Influenza, Avian Influenza and Pandemic Influenza.
    https://ipac-canada.org/influenza-resources.php
  5. Why Seniors Should Get the Inactivated Influenza (Flu) Vaccine
    http://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthfiles/hfile12a.stm